PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED

Set up a natural-looking environment for Fancy Guppies, Rasboras, Panda Cories, Freshwater Shrimp, German Blue Rams and more with this all-inclusive desktop aquarium. Featuring an energy-efficient LED that replicates natural light, the aquarium encourages healthy and colorful fish and plants. The fully integrated 3-stage filtration system ensures easy setup and maintenance, while the carbon-filled filter pad promotes crystal-clear water.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Review 1 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

LED doesn't last very long

March 10, 2013
by tinner1975
fromny
6 months old and the 3 of the LEDs are out and 3 more are blinking. it's a good tank for a nano reef
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Awesome Nano Reef Tank

March 5, 2013
by Baylasida
fromMA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this set up 3 months ago. I had been using a 10 gallon stock glass tank for my nano reef tank and wanted something acrylic that wasn't going to break the bank. I did a lot of research into getting this tank since it seemed to be the easiest to mod for my reef. I upgraded the pump to a Hydor pump. Added a heater in back compartment. Then bought a LED for my coral for less than 40 bucks. Modded the filter area for less than 5 bucks. I am able to fit my bio cube skimmer in back compartment but it was tight and ended up skipping on it since the tank is much smaller. I love this tank and so happy I bought it. Also got it on sale *bonus* Looks wonderful in my living room. The only reason I am not giving this a 5 star is that the cover for the tank is not good for evaporation in a saltwater tank. I currently have a thin piece of acrylic over it to limit the amount of top offs needed. Also since its really only a 6 gallons of space for my livestock. Back compartment eats up a lot of space gallon wise. Pics are of the tank after a few days some corals where still mad from move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Leaking!

February 4, 2013
by RxDaily
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?M
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
I just received this product today and decided to do a leak test. I chose this tank based on reviews and youtube videos. I must say the tank is very good looking and the quality seems to be above average. However, when performing a leak test, the bottom of the aquarium was not sealed properly and when water entered the return pump area it began to flow out quite rapidly onto bathroom floor. Contacted PETSMART and a replacement will be in the mail soon.
Pros: easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great little tank, good for saltwater too!

January 22, 2013
by GnarlyCarly15
fromNew England
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I know it's not recommended to keep such a small saltwater tank, but I have the Aqueon Evolve2 (which is 2 gallons) and have had it now for a little over a month. It's my first saltwater tank (I've been keeping freshwater for over 10 years) and its great. I put a small heater in the back compartment and I currently have some live rock and 2 yellowtail damsels and I hope to add some zoathids. So far everything is great. My only complaint is that if the wire from the pump isn't in a certain position, it makes a lot of noise. But once you find that spot, it's super quiet. All in all it's an awesome desktop tank and petsmart is carrying it at a great price! This tanks is 100% worth it!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Good Starter Tank

January 21, 2013
by OneFishTwoFish
fromOrem, UT
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This was the easiest tank setup I've ever done. The filter and pump are cleverly hidden in the blacked-out area, and don't distract you from the point of getting the tank - the fish! Our pump is near-silent and doesn't bother us at all.
The only really confusing part is why they call this the Evolve 8 - it's actually a 7 gallon tank (I measured it and did the math), with a little over 5 available for the fish to swim in. Make sure you get a large enough heater! Acrylic doesn't do a great job of holding heat in.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Good substitute for much higher priced nano tanks

January 11, 2013
by Jaay
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
I probably would have given this set up a 5 star overall rating if it was not for the very flimsy two piece covers for the tank and filtration area. No matter how careful you are, eventually one or both of these tops will fall into the tank while handling them. Some better engineering even if it costs a bit more is necessary.
I bought this tank to set up as a salt water nano tank for my son. Having shopped around for a nano tank, this set up is significantly cheaper and not much of a difference in quality. Given that the tank is in my young son's room, a cover was a must as well as to keep evaporation down to a managable amount.
It has been set up with live rock and live sand to manage the biological filtration. The carbon impregnated floss pads that are used by Aqueon in this tank are shockingy huge.
There is enough room in the rear two part rear chambers to add a heater as well as a small UV sterilizer. Now, if I can only figure out how to add a small protein skimmer I would feel much better.
My only other complaint is that the daylight and moonlight are on one switch so you cannot put them on separate timers. Probably too much to expect though for the price.
As for people who have complained about the factory submersible pump being noisy, ours is dead silent. My only thought of why others are having noise problems is because they have the pump touching one of the chamber's walls and/or did not seat the suction cups on the bottom properly.
Now, if they only made an Evolve 12 or 15, it would be awesome for us budget minded nano tank keepers.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: flimsy
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Lovely Little Nano Tank

January 1, 2013
by LexiW
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This is a fantastic tank! It has a beautiful sleek style with cleverly hidden filtration system. While it comes with a filter, light and pump (the quietest pump I've ever had, I can sleep with it on), it does not come with a heater; but fear not! The hidden filtration compartment has plenty of room for one. Also it has room for an air stone if you feel it needs one, but from my experience it is aerated enough. Its a breeze to clean with its swivel head LED lamp (that has a day and night setting) and delicately curved edges. the LED is great for growing your common aquarium plants, as well as successfully illuminating the tank. The filter requires a large cartridge, that of which keeps the water crystal clear. This dandy little 8 gallon tank is just what you have been looking for; easy to set up, sleek and resourceful!
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

great tank

September 1, 2012
by reviewer999
fromedmonton
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i had a smaller tank and a heater the heater was big and the tank was small so i bought the evolve8 and the tank is made very well. it even has a spot for the heater. but the only thing is that its filter is very loud. but the night time light makes up for the loud filter.an my fish love it.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 8 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great small starter tank!

July 18, 2012
by fish123456789
fromDover, DE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This tank is a small starter tank, but acts like a big one! Its built in filter is amazing and the filter pads it contains make the water crystal clear in hours. Im currently cycling my tank with some live plants and they are growing so fast because of the LED lighting, its amazing. you will not be disapointed when you get this tank. truly amazing.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.