PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED

Create a fantastic underwater habitat for Cherry Barbs, Neon Tetras, Mystery Snails, Bettas and more with this all-inclusive aquarium. The LED generates natural-looking light with 2 settings to promote healthy, colorful fish and plants. The fully integrated, 3-stage filtration system allows for easy setup, while the carbon-filled filter pad traps debris and limits odors to promote a clean, healthy environment for your thriving underwater habitat.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
10 of 14(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Review 1 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great Betta Tank

June 8, 2013
by Mighty2013
fromDFW, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
We bought this tank for our Betta, Mighty, and we are really glad we did! It is the perfect size and shape for a desktop setup and works great for a single fish aquarium. The pump was too powerful for a betta, even on the lowest setting, but I cut a small square of green Scotch Brite scouring pad and restricted the outflow and this worked perfectly! Our fish now swims in and out of his barrel and loves to play in the light current created by the restricted pump outflow. He used to just float at the top of his starter bowl.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Well made tank...a little too well made...

May 26, 2013
by CasualFishFan
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
As a whole, this is a high quality tank. The tank itself of a strong, sturdy material (it doesn't feel flimsy and cheap like other tanks), the pump is good, the light is good, and it has a very sleek look. Absolutely perfect for a desktop or bedside table.
The only drawback is that it seems that Aqueon uses the same pump for the 2gal, 4gal, and 8gal, so the pump is way too strong for the 2gal. After doing some research, I found an easy solution. I put a filter sponge in front of the pump intake, and that helped slightly. However, I also put a small piece of filter sponge in the spout that spits the water back into the tank, and that made a huge difference.
So if you want a high quality sleek tank that is small and reliable, get this tank. Just buy a filter sponge to go along with it.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Cute nano tank

May 18, 2013
by Penalope
fromHanover, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Unfortunately the pump mine came with was very noisy. This is why I only give it 3 stars. I tried cutting the piping so it would hang, still noisy. I tried putting some foam around it, still noisy. Also, BE SURE TO LEAVE THE TOP ON!! I was forgetful one day and left the top off, to come home to an empty tank and all my fish jumped out! I had three little fish and only had them for a couple days and they all decided to jump out. :( Very sad. So I decided to use this as a betta tank without the pump. Perfect for betta's!
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Cute, Love It, But Needs Mods for Betta

May 13, 2013
by hunny0202
fromLos Angeles, CA
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have this on my desk at work and it is the perfect size. I have one Betta fish in it. He loves it (he told me lol). The only thing is the filter is way way way way way too strong for him! I emailed Aqueon and they are sending me a new filter!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Buy one of the bigger tanks

March 1, 2013
by Ash4
fromKenosha, WI
This tank is pretty good to start off in, Yes the filter is strong but it can easily be modified. However I recommend buying the Aqueon 4g or 8g instead because the 2 is way to small.
I have one betta in a 4g currently and its perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great buy

February 8, 2013
by Faulker
fromColumbia, sc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Recently purchased new tank for wife's beta fish. Tank is amazing and well built. Gives a futuristic look but also simple tank. Set up took only minutes and looks amazing.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Beautiful tank but not practical

January 15, 2013
by Trinity52607
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
This was purchased for my son as a Christmas gift. I was excited when we received it because it was nice and compact and has an attractive design. We ultimately returned it for the following reasons.
Filter + pump - the filter was fairly quite and functioned simply and well enough, but this was one major reason we decided to return it. The pump made a very strong current and since the tank was so small, it didn't leave much room for my guppies to swim around. they basically cowered in a corner and seemed to have to constantly swim so that they didn't get swept away with the current. I think that they all would have died if I left them in the tank. (2 of which did but that wasn't necessarily the tank's fault, some fish just have a high turn over rate) I tried different things to try and restrict the flow but did not have any success. the pump is adjustable; however, on the lowest setting it was still way too strong. This tank has the same pump that comes in the 4gl and 8gl models and I think it would only be acceptable for the 8gl model.
LED - I absolutely LOVED the LED light. it has a day and night setting that made the tank very attractive.
Hood - this tank does have room in the back compartment to house a small heater which is nice because one really wouldn't fit in the main area. However, I don't know who designed the hood, but they didn't think about it too much. The main clear plastic hood just rests on top of the tank. It can be easily knocked off, but the black one that covers the pump/heater/filter does not provide enough space to accommodate the cords from the pump/heater. This means that the black cover has to sit askew and since the clear cover rests against this they both sit askew and in awkward positions. Ultimately not a big deal, but a design flaw.
Cleaning - I don't know how cleaning is possible in this thing. There's no way you can get a gravel siphon in here so I assumed if you'd want to clean it you'd have to remove all your fish, plants, gravel and clean everything separately. This is a big problem since that would seriously disrupt the ecosystem. It is also made of acrylic so it's possible you could scratch it when cleaning it with an algae sponge.
We returned it due to the pump being too strong and the cleaning issues. I was sorry to see it go because it was very attractive, but we only had it a week and it was driving me crazy. one problem after the next. Unless you're planning to just put a goldfish in it (which wouldn't require a heater or pump) I would just buy a 10gl tank and make your life a lot easier.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Great looking tank, has some issues

December 27, 2012
by LizW
fromGilbert, AZ
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews
Bought this tank for my husbands office because of it's stylish appearance. Love the LED lighting and the night setting is great. Hassle #1 The first tank we purchased was returned because it leaked. Set the second tank up and set our new little Betta in the water. The pump pressure was WAY too strong for the little guy. We figured out after messing with the pump that we could turn the pressure down, however even at the lowest setting it was still way too strong for him. I am going to try to contact the company for a new pump as another reviewer said they were able to get a new one sent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Very noisy pump

December 10, 2012
by Betta101
fromSeattle, WA
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Great looking aquarium. But the pump was super noisy. Sounded like the impeller was going to fall apart at any minute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Is Perfect, Perfect for Office

October 23, 2012
by EgeaTropical16
fromSan Juan, PR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Super Quiet, Ideal for neon tetras, easy to change the filter, the LED is excellent, has the function blue moon. LED is super bright. Gives an appearance of a saltwater aquarium. water is kept super clean. the filter is strong, I loved it, really recommend it.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, easy to install
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Can be OK for Bettas

August 23, 2012
by 3Kats
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
As another reviewer wrote, the flow created by the pump is much too strong for a Betta, even though the box shows Bettas as a recommended fish. The pump can be adjusted (although nothing in the directions or elsewhere on the box or instruction sheet shows this). I found, however, that even when set on the lowest level, the flow was still too strong for my Betta. I found by searching the internet several "fixes" that others have used for this problem. I emailed the company about the problem. They told me they were initially putting a pump in this aquarium that was too large. They sent me a smaller pump. However, the hose that came with the original pump did not fit the smaller pump so it could not be connected to the outflow connector. So I wrote again and they sent a tube that does fit. A bit of a hassle, but the smaller pump does make a difference. It is a nice looking small aquarium so if you want it for a Betta and can deal with the hassle of making it work right, it is nice in the end.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Not for bettas!

June 17, 2012
by cimm
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This tank is easy to setup and runs quietly. However, this tank was sold to me as a perfect tank for bettas and it is not suited to bettas. The outflow from the filter into the tank is too much current for a betta. There is no way to adjust the flow into the tank. The poor betta has to fight the current all the time.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great Performance!

April 10, 2012
by HannaGirl
fromMidwest
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I received this tank as a present and am very happy with it. My tank did not leak at all and performs well. It is very easy to set up, does not take up very much space and my fish seem happy in it. The only thing is that you have to make sure you put enough water in- otherwise it makes terribly loud noises and fills the tank with air bubbles. I had this problem and was a bit worried until I added more water, at which point it was fine and much quieter. I think that it is very good for a beginner (which is what I am) and good quality also.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon(r) Evolve 2 nano All-Inclusive Desktop Aquarium with LED
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Leaky Tank

January 19, 2012
by DeeInSoCal
fromHigh Desert, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am on my second tank. The first one leaked in 3 places within hours of being filled. Sofar the second one doesnt leak(still just as poorly sealed), but three of the LED lights don't work strait out of the box.
The cover is flimsy and will end up in the water if not balanced right.
The pros are the filtration is good with a strong and adjustable pump. Tank is perfect desktop/countertop size and attractive.
A great choice for little betta fish.
Filters are easy to change out.
+14points
26of 38voted this as helpful.