PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS

This cat litter contains carbon to help eliminate pet waste odors. The litter is scoopable to allow for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(738 reviews) 738
551 of 723(76%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Review 1 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Best cat litter ever!!!

January 22, 2014
by Nooodlesgood
fromCapon Bridge WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is the best cat litter I have ever encountered. I have not had an inside cat for about 4 years. I recently saved a kitten from doom. I started with this Fresh step Extreme scoop-able and have now used it for 2 years. There is absolutely no odor! I have gone about 5 days without scooping just because there were quite a few clumps ,not because of the smell. PLEASE KEEP THIS PRODUCT FOREVER! It is the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Wonderful

November 17, 2013
by AnabelleandSatchelsmom
fromHyattsville, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two very smelly cats and a very strong sense of smell...bad combination. I have uses a lot of litters and each had their pluses. Some clumped well, some had mediocre smell control, but this litter has it all. I was scooping every day with my other litters, but I could still smell my cats. With this litter, I am able to scoop every other day.
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

GREAaaaaaat!

October 31, 2013
by OMGOSH
fromTempe AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I would not recommend any other litter, this is the greatest stuff to mask oders with one or many cats and clumps everything easy clean up!
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 738 reviews

Good but too dusty

September 4, 2013
by ncies1011
fromSterling Heights, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This litter works well when it comes to odor control and clumping but it's just way too dusty for me. Every time I pour new litter into my cat's litter box, a huge cloud of dust comes with it. The scent smells good but it's a little strong for me. It clumps really well but if it didn't have all the dust that came with it, this litter would be perfect.
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

LOVE FRESH STEP !

April 24, 2013
by bnerdf67
fromWichita, KS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have tried numerous products in the past ten years. Now that I have landed on Fresh Step I will look no further. I have tried a few of the other brands (different kinds of cat-sand) and ALL have been FAILURES !!! I have two female cats and my all time favorite cat-sand is the 42lb. bag of Extreme Scoopable Cat Litter-Scented !!! By the way I am a Dude ( so I like stuff that WORKS )!!!
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Great product

February 11, 2013
by BeachBuddha1987
fromFort Pierce, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
For a room in my home that always smelled of a dirty litterbox due to less then great litter, This product completly changed that, no more dirty smells, room smells fresh, no over bearing litter smell.
100% PERFECT
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Excellent Odor Protection

February 2, 2013
by KalilaBean
fromPhoenix, Arizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I find Fresh Step Extreme Odor Control Scoopable cat litter to be the best kind that I have ever used with my cats. I have 5 cats, and I have tried many different types and brands of cat litter. I had always found, until I tried this particular Fresh Step litter, that the cat litters were never able to stop the litter box odor, even with frequent cleanings. When I tried Fresh Step Extreme Odor Scoopable cat litter, I was expecting the same results, however I was pleasantly surprised when the litter did cover up my cats' litter box odor. I find the scent to be pleasant in this cat litter, which I cannot say for most others. Additionally, my cats like the litter as well. I have found if they don't like a litter, that they may go outside of the litter box on the mat. I have never found that to be the case with this litter. With all this said, I highly recommend Fresh Step Extreme Odor Scoopable cat litter.
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Love it

January 15, 2013
by babyblonde108
fromRaiford, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Great order control!!
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Great!

January 7, 2013
by MomsCritter
fromNOVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've been using FS since I brought my critter home at 3 months old. He is now 5 yrs old in-door cat. EVERYONE that comes to my home doesn't know I have a cat until they see him. The perfume smell is not so strong as to stay in your nostrils and/or scent your home as some of these reviews states...take it from an asthmatic with a very sensitive nose and lungs. As for the dust, not like it's some great plumb of dust cloud. In the past I've tried others and they just don't fight cat odors like FS. When critter is happy...momma is happy!
Overall, FS is a great product if your want your home cat odor free.
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Excellent Product

September 5, 2012
by CatFamily11
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We currently use Fresh Step Extreme in our litter boxes(2). The product is the best we have found so far with respect to keeping odor under control and longevity. We do scoop the box every couple of days as we have multiple(6) cats that utilize the 2 boxes. As in a previous review it does have a little dust associated with it but I have not found a litter yet that doesn't. We have also had people in the house who have told us they didn't know we had indoor cats. Although this litter is a little more expensive, since it is the scoopable kind, it is well worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 738 reviews

clumps great. perfume scent & dust is horrible.

September 1, 2012
by chipmonke
fromwest covina, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Made a big mistake buying the scented one. It covers up the odors well and it clumps very good BUT... The scent wreaks. You can smell it everywhere. Although the one thing that bothered me the most was the massive amount of dust in it. My cat loves to cover up his oopsies very well and while doing so he kicks up dust everywhere. The dust gives me bad headaches and it bothered my throat. Not to mention my cats wreaks of the perfume -_- ... I think I'll buy the non scented next time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 738 reviews

Wow - the scent is EVERYWHERE

August 17, 2012
by LMS77
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
First of all, the cloud of dust when I poured the litter into the box was unbelievable. It was in my nose, my throat, and I even tasted it later on. And now the strong cheap perfume scent is everywhere I go. My poor cat wreaks of it, the couch stinks, and basically everything that can absorb the fine litter dust wreaks. I've vacuumed, washed, and cleaned, but as long as that litter is in the house, everything stinks. We're pouring it out ASAP and replacing it with our previous litter. Never again!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

GREAT LITTER

July 5, 2012
by kitturn
fromWest Virgina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love the Extreme Fresh Step litter. My litter box is upstairs which is usually a lot warmer in the summer months. I do not smell the litter or waste at all. Yes, there is a little dust, but I have had litter that was a lot worse. The litter alone does not have a strong odor. That is another reason why I like it so well. I do not like perfumy smelling litters. The smell of the waste with the litter smell can be disgusting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

best litter ever!

May 27, 2012
by clamb
fromaustin, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I'm the mom of 3 cats and I have tried EVERY litter under the sun. I thought A&H was the best until I found Fresh Step. It eliminates odors and makes cleaning easy!
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Best I've Ever Used!

May 1, 2012
by DancingFeather
fromLongmont CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is, hands down, the best cat litter I've ever used, and I've tried them all! I see people complaining about the odor and dust - there is an odor that is a bit off-putting, but I hardly ever notice it, and there isn't any more dust than most litter products. I say, I would happily put up with these tiny inconveniences in order to get such a wonderful product. Seriously, I never, ever smell the box at all, which is a wonder in itself; it clumps wonderfully - absolutely no pounding the box to get messes out of corners or the bottom of the box...two minutes, and you're done. Awesome!!!
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 738 reviews

Better off with regular scoopable

March 27, 2012
by JCI12
fromNOLA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I really like Fresh Step Litter and so do my cats. This particular variety has way too much dust in it and scooping through it causes a mess. I don't see much difference in it vs. the regular scoopable other than a slightly stronger scent and a ton more dust. I continue to but the multi cat scoopable Fresh Step, but this one I won't buy again.
Pros: eliminates odor
Cons: messy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 738 reviews

Strong smell, fine powder that gets everywhere

February 26, 2012
by Mac2115
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've been using Fresh Step clumping litter for several years with much satisfaction. I consider it the best. I picked up the Extreme for the first and last time. Even with the most gentle handling, the invisible powder (I guess, since I don't see it) gets in my nostrils and sometimes in my mouth where I taste it. Later, if I blow my nose, the strong smell comes back. My cat has it all through his fur, on his head--everywhere. If he comes around while I'm cleaning his litter, he can be 3 or 4 feet away and will start sneezing. I can't wait for it to be used up.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 738 reviews

Best litter so far.

February 6, 2012
by cam92
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used to use corn litter but when I got wood floors, I started noticing little dusty paw prints every where. Crystal litters didn't cover up the smell and other clay litters didn't clump that well. I tried out this version of Fresh Step and have been very impressed so far. I've been using it for a month now. It clumps VERY well, almost completely eliminates odor (one of my cats doesn't bury so there is still SOME smell), and I haven't noticed nearly as much tracking throughout the apartment...didn't expect that but it's definitely a bonus. I'm really happy with it and going to keep using it. The price is right and it works really well!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 738 reviews

Pretty Decent

November 2, 2011
by Erika54403
fromWausau, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cats actually seemed to like this product. And so did I, except for the fact that it is actually *too* scented. It was fine in the litter box, but what I didn't like was how long the scent lingered on my cats' paws after they were done in the litter box. In fact, the smell hardly ever wasn't there on there feet. I figured that if the smell is that strong, it might not be good for the cats to be licking their feet all the time. Otherwise, its a good product, but I went back to using the regular Fresh Step with carbon.
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fresh Step(r) Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter with CarbonPLUS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 738 reviews

Too Scented/Dusty...BUT....

October 25, 2011
by furfacemom
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
One of my cats was very affected, running nose/sneezing, by the scent/dustiness of this product, SO, I MIX this product with Arm & Hammer's UNSCENTED Multi-Cat clumping product (2 parts Arm & Hammer to 1 part Fresh Step). This combo "fixed" the runny nose/sneezing and the dust clinging to their coats!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next