PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps

It’s important to keep your cat’s claws trimmed so they’re able to easily maneuver indoors and outdoors. Use Kitty Caps Nail Caps for a great cut.
Overall rating:
4.291 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 126
111 of 127(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Review 1 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Great alternative to declawing!

January 17, 2015
by ChrisElisa
fromSelinsgrove, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a 12 year old cat who was declawed years ago, and wanted an alternative for the young kitty we just adopted. I had my doubts about this product at first. Applying the caps was a two person job five months ago but, now, I can easily handle the task on my own. The caps stay on for months and I occasionally have to replace one or two at a time. My kitty doesn't seem to mind them at all. Really surprised at how much I like Kitty Caps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

I am sooo happy with these kitty caps

January 11, 2015
by Mskittyjaenhtwn
fromHouston, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These are incredible. I just purchased a new leather sectional and my kitten could not resist trying to climb up and down , leaving little tears and snags . This is a lifesaver. I had just considered get Max declawed, but now that I have these , I will continue to purchase them as a house staple .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Such a wonderful alternative to declawing your cat

January 4, 2015
by Hemenmom
fromSpanish Springs, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
So we were afraid to attempt this on our own and paid the vet $20 to put them on for us. This is the first day so I will be making an update after a while longer. Just thought I should say how excited I am at the possibility that this has given a safe alternative for our pet. So far she seems to be annoyed with them and is trying to bite them off. We are hoping she will forget about them in a day or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Furniture Savers!

August 5, 2014
by Andreaj
fromAda, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We mostly bought these for our two cats to save our furniture. They don't intentionally scratch, but they do it on accident when playing. We just happened to find these at the store in Fort Worth TX while browsing, gave them a try and we are so happy! The cats don't show any discomfort and they have not only protected the furniture but my kids from those 'whoops' scratches when playing with their toys with them. Will repurchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Awesome!

August 3, 2014
by High7princess
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Love the kitty caps! We thought declawing was too "mean" so these are a great alternative! We have a 14 yr old dog and an apartment and the kitty caps are perfect! Safe for the cat and the dog, and us! And they keep the cat from messing up the carpet too! They have to be replaced every 1-2 months, but our local vet clips her nails and puts them on for us for a decent price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Great product so far

July 23, 2014
by Ccucclady
fromGarden Grove, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I friend recommended these. They were more pricy than I though they would be and in fact they were $2.00 more expensive in the store than what is shown here. Hummm. We'll my kitten wasn't happy about being held so long and complained pretty vocally when we got to the last paw. But she hasn't tried to pull them off. Will hope they stay on for at least a month. The pretty purple glitter caps look great with her white fur. My furniture and bedspreads thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Great But Good Luck!

March 4, 2014
by phrozeinglass
fromPhiladelphia PA
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased these in store because my local PetSmart had them on sale for $11.
These are great. I never had any issues with them. They are not difficult to put on however, if you're cat does not like his/her feet to be touched, GOOD LUCK.
Once I was able to get these on, they stayed on for a long while. Make sure you're using enough adhesive and that the adhesive makes its way into the nail cap and not on the outside.
My couch greatly appreciates these and they will fall off as soon as your cat's nails are ready to be trimmed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Awesome!!!

February 27, 2014
by Animalluverrrrrrr90
fromDanbury, ct
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i bought these not for scratching but just for the look. my cat is 9 and shes pretty mellow. unfortunately she hates her paws and nails touched. im usually able to clip them without too much fuss however she wasnt too happy about these. i have a few bite and scratch marks lol but its okay. she kept trying to pull them off and thankfully hasn't succeeded. occasionally she bites them but i think theyre on well. its been only 2 days and she seem quite normal, using her scratcher and all. over all i would defiantly re-purchace. i think she'll get used to them next application.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews

Hit or miss depending on your cat

February 17, 2014
by hushangel
fromWindsor, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had been putting off buying new leather furniture until I had my cats' scratching under control (one way or another). I got a set of these for both of my cats. You could put them on by yourself if you are highly skilled or have a very calm cat, but we found it easier to do with two people. One person to hold the cat and flex the nail out and the other to put the glue on the caps and apply them to the nail.
During the short time the caps stayed on, they didn't affect the mobility of my cats and DID prevent further damage to my furniture. However some of the caps fell off quickly (within hours of application) and the rest were off within a few days. The ones that didn't fall off on their own were chewed off by my cats. I can see how they would be effective for some cats and the coloured ones look absolutely adorable when they're on (like kitty nail polish) but they weren't useful for my cats.
I would recommend trying them out and hoping for the best as they stay on better with some cats and do prevent harmful scratching. But don't be surprised if they aren't for (or your cat) in the end.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Easy To Apply, And Works Fantastically!

February 16, 2014
by CourtneyWithLove
fromPortland, ME
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had been searching for ways to stop my cat from scratching, and I stumbled upon these. I purchased them, and applied them onto my cats nails. Very easy to do, no mess, and they worked wonderfully. They also look very cute on your cats nails as well, its like they get their own little manicure! I definitely will be repurchasing these until I can break my kitty of her bad scratching habits! I took a few photos to post on my blog, and I am sharing them on here as well so you can take a look for yourself!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews

Didn't work great

February 12, 2014
by lala211
fromColumbia, MD
How many pets do you have?1
I got one paw-full on and it was tough. Then I kept finding them all over the house so she was getting them off somehow. This isn't going to work for us even though other people swear by them.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

So far, so good!

February 2, 2014
by LUEWX
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
First I would like to say that I have read reviews about these that they were super easy to put on and their cats barely put up a fuss -- this only applies to cats that don't mind getting their nails trimmed. My 4-5 month old kitten hates getting her nails trimmed and she hated this more because it was a more drawn out process.
However, once I got them on her, they have been staying on great for the last few hours even with her running around playing and she doesn't even seem to notice that they're on.
My one quip is that I bought the extra small and they were still too big for her little kitten nails, so I had to trip them down. It wasn't too much of a hassle, but since my kitten doesn't like when I deal with her nails, having to try the cap on, trim the cap, try it on again, put the glue in, and then put the cap on for good for all of her front claws was way too much for her. I had to do each paw separately with a few hours of rest in between.
Once I got the caps trimmed the process was easy and they're holding up well. I would definitely recommend them with the note that you may have to take some time or get someone to help you if your cat is fussy about their nails.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Easy to Use

February 1, 2014
by CATLADYWANNABE
fromEdmonton, AB, CAN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
As far as easy to use, they were awesome.. We have 2 cats and it took us less than 10 mins per cat. We took our time so as not to stress them out.. Trimmed their nails first and then proceeded with the process.. We held them for 5 mins each afterward... Our younger cat was chewing at them a little but gave up quickly.. (she didn't get any off).. . Hope they hold out for a couple weeks but so far so good...
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

January 29, 2014
by KateP228
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We recently adopted a three year old cat from the SPCA. I came across these and decided to try them as opposed to having the cat declawed. They were easy to put on and he hasn't bothered with them! It's been about two weeks and he's still wearing the first set. Definatly saving the furniture, the kids from scratches when they play with him, and harm to our other cat, who had been declawed (they like to chase each other and wrestle). I'll Definatly keep using these caps!! I would totally recommend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

January 15, 2014
by monty0596
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These kitty caps are excellent! They are very easy to apply and our kitten doesn't mind wearing them. These caps have saved our furniture and carpets!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

January 10, 2014
by animalloverof4
fromOdessa, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 2 cats both female, one is 4 yrs old and the other is 4 months old. It was easy enough to put on the kitten and had to have the kids help me hold my older cat. Day 3 now and all of them are still on and they don't seem to bother them at all. They are loving it because they don't get sprayed with water when they get near my leather chairs and I don't mind when they are getting on them anymore. I will definitely continue using them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Fantastic product!

January 4, 2014
by skybug212
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had been considering getting my kitten declawed until I researched it and learned what that actually involved. Once I realized how horrible that was I started looking for other solutions. I came across these and they are wonderful. It took my cat about half an hour to get used to them. I recommend you try to do it when they want to take a nap. Once my cat woke up he didn't notice or bother the caps. My cat is only 5 months old so I'm not sure how an older cat would do with them. I was worried he wouldn't be able to use his cat perch (it's about 4 feet tall) but he climbs straight up like they are not even there. I only put the caps on his front paws since that is what he was scratching me and my six years old with. You do need two people to put them on, my sister had me hold his back paws and the scruff of his neck and she had his claws clipped and the caps on in about 15 minutes. He's had them on for about four days now and all of them are still there. The only bad thing about these is that even though I got the extra small they were still a little bit big on him at the base but it hasn't affected him or the fit of them.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Good product, just takes two people to put them on

December 27, 2013
by rmcalki
fromwisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
It took my husband and I to put them on our cats. One to hold the cat (I wrapped him in a towel, with just his head and front feet out) the cats didn't like it, but as soon as we let them go, they acted normally right away. A couple popped off within a couple days, but I think it was because I didn't put them on well enough, due to the cat struggling. I'm sure when I replace those couple that popped off, they will be fine. It will definitely save our furniture, until I can afford to get my cats declawed. I only put the caps on the front feet, they don't scratch anything with their back feet. I just trim those.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

December 27, 2013
by wrsh
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
We put the nail caps on momma cat and four kittens, age seven months. They've been on for over a week and seem to be doing the job. Only used four on each front paw. They don't try to scratch as much as before. I hope they'll last at least four weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kitty Caps Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Amazing stuff!

December 17, 2013
by MrsAmandaJones
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a female calico who thinks I'm abandoning her when I leave the room. Any time I enter a room where she isn't allowed, (like my husband's art studio filled with computer cords) she freaks out and starts clawing at the carpet under the door.
I got these as a last resort... Hoping that they would stop her from destroying my carpet. She wasn't sure what I was doing, but when I finished gluing them on, she tried to peel them off with her teeth for about ten minutes. She has an eating disorder where she prefers to eat non-food items.
After that, she accepted them, and left them alone. She didn't try to eat them, or pull them off again. They lasted for almost a month! The first couple came off when I put her in her crate so the carpets could get cleaned, and she used her paws and nails to try to open the crate door. (she's good at these things)
After bath day, I'm going to try the colored ones on her, and use the extra clear on my male nebelung.
Pros: gentle
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next