PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control

Deterring a barking dog is made simple with this barking control device. Perfect for all environments. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
3.33 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 102
60 of 103(58%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Review 1 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Excellent*** Highly Recommend

July 19, 2012
by GracieD
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My husband and I decided to purchase this product in the hopes it would help stop our 8 month old Shorkie (Shih Tzu/Yorkie) from barking. Our condo is located in an area where there is a bit of foot traffic behind our yard. Her barking was starting to cause our neighbors to become very annoyed, even to the point that an "unknown" neighbor put a note on our door. After reading some of these reviews we decided to give it a shot. We were AMAZED. The very first time we hit the button it got her attention! It spooked her a little but did not cause her any pain or shock. We decided to use the key word "no bark" right before we hit the button. We've had this for 2 days now and have only had to hit the button a handful of times. She see's the "egg" and is much more mindful and listens. If she tries to bark all we have to say is "no bark" and she quiets down. We highly recommend this product, it's worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

I can't believe it worked...but it did!

March 16, 2014
by Sophie123
fromBethesda, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
I have a 10 pound miniature pincher that barked every time somebody would knock on the door… Or we would take out the trash… Or somebody strange came into the apartment… And now after using this device for three days, she hasn't barked since and is pretty much a silent dog now and is still as happy as ever. This device is incredible!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

Just made my dog mad.

March 4, 2014
by D1956
fromAR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews
Purchased to try to curb my labradoodle's incessant barking. Initially stopped barking long enough to discover where the sound was coming from. From then on he started going wild trying to get the egg from me, barking even louder and longer. This was a total waste of $25.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

I like it!

February 28, 2014
by BillieG
fromPerris, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have three little yappy dogs, and was just about
at my wits end, so I decided to try this product.
It worked like a charm, but I try not to over use
it, because I don't want the dogs to become used to
the sound and just ignore it. Now, I sometimes only have to pick it up and they quit barking.. And it only took a few days, for them to recognize what happened when they barked too much.. They still
bark if someone comes to my door, but they don't
just continue to bark..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 103 reviews

Handy gadget

February 15, 2014
by LDG52
fromWashougal, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews
Worked great on most of my dogs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Worked better than I could ever imagine!

February 9, 2014
by HappycustomerinNE
fromBellevue, ne
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
Bought this and it worked the first day. Have three dogs that yap and they are now all quiet. Someone came to the door and nothing. A quiet house. Yeah! Try it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

Took a gamble and product did not work at all

January 27, 2014
by WishfulBuyerUnhappy
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews
After reading mixed reviews on here, I took a gamble and went to the store and bought a sonic egg mini. It cost about $23. I got it home and tried it out on my 60 pound lab mix dog. He bent his ears a little back when I pushed the button but overall it did nothing. I figured I'd try it out all the next day when I had plans for several people knocking at the door. I had a total of 6 people knock and come in my home and all 6 times the sonic egg did absolutely nothing to deter my dog from barking and charging the door. It did not phase him whatsoever. After he quieted I tried again and it still did nothing to phase him. It was like over time, it had less and less of an effect.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

January 20, 2014
by cassl
fromcreston iowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews
did not work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews

January 11, 2014
by Portmom
fromModesto, CA
It definitely works. When you press the button when they bark they hear the sound and stop barking. Amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Sonic Egg works Great!!!

January 9, 2014
by Dovely
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Our Schnoodle-Army in the Black (apprx. 18 lbs) is on prednisone, and is ALWAYS hungry. He started barking at midnight so we started feeding him then too. he recently started barking every 2 hours in the wee hours of the morning, because we chose to reward him for barking he thought it was ok to keep doing it. I purchased this Sonic Egg yesterday, and used it last night. Every time he tried to bark, I pushed the button and he went back to bed, and quit barking instantly. A couple nights of this and our family will be sleeping through the night again. I fully recommend this item.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

Assembly Incomplete

January 8, 2014
by Rboy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The unit was missing the springs for the two internal battery clips. I am returning unit to the nearest store for replacement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews

Effective on multiple dogs, would recommend

December 30, 2013
by MyraH
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
I got the Sonic Egg about a month ago when it was on sale. We have 2 dogs in the house (a Sheltie and a Corgi) who bark at the slightest noise, especially when someone comes in the door, and continue to bark for minutes afterward! So I thought this would be a better solution than bark collars. I turned it on low and the second they started barking, they stopped!! It's an inaudible sound that catches their attention, but you know it goes off via a green LED light on the front. Our Sheltie stopped barking and wasn't affected afterwards. But our poor Corgi was terrified afterward! She hid behind me for almost an hour, so I shut it off and eventually showed her that she could bark without any high pitched squeal. We still turn it on every so often if they get out of hand, but we hardly even need to anymore! One time was all it took for them to get the hint, and the barking has dropped by about 60%! I would definitely recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

Not even worth it to try

December 29, 2013
by Jamillah
fromSpringfield Gardens, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews
My dog doesn't really bark unless I am away from him and it was starting to become too much, so I purchased the Sonic Egg in hopes that I could train him into not barking when I go away. All this did was have him bark more. I read the reviews and they were all so mixed I hoped that I would be lucky and receive the pro aspect of it. I wouldn't recommend this product. Really is just a waste of money that you end up getting back once you return it.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Works awesome for on the go!

December 15, 2013
by Tysonminpin
fromAtlanta ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
Originally purchased the egg for the house while I was not there and it was so effective that I wanted to have the same type of control on his barking while on the go and taking him on walks. Bought the handheld the next day and it simply works wonders.
Point and click and he stops immediately and is deterred to bark again without ever harming him
Recommend to any barking dog.
Tyson is a 13 lb male rescue minature pinscher age 1 year 2 months
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

A Miracle! Saved me Hundreds!

December 5, 2013
by DaniBee
fromConyers, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
We have a 4-month-old Yorkie that this week, took to yet another seeming and super irritating "developmental milestone": incessant barking, yelping and howling at night. It got to the point night before last, that homicidal thoughts ensued (not a proud moment).
The barking/yelping/howling cacophony was the latest act of rebellion to wanting out of her spacious and well-appointed kennel (can't be trusted to not potty everywhere --despite being pad trained since birth -- does THAT based on mood as well) and wanting US to keep her company at 10 pm. And 2 am. And 5 am. And 8 am.
Anyway, planned on buying shock collar but was curtailed by her small stature and the possibility that it wouldn't fit, so the salesperson at the pet store suggested this with a money back guarantee! Hey, it was only twenty bucks!
It worked! NOT A PEEP ALL NIGHT! Even as I type this, she tried her her usual 5 am routine (yeah, I'm up from previous days' trauma) and QUICKLY backed down bark one! YIPPEEE!
The trick: ONLY leave on at night, or times when dead silence is required, because, as one reviewer mentioned, it's very sensitive. You don't want the dog either going crazy or ignoring it altogether. Not the goal. Medium setting worked for us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

I have super powers over rotten dogs

December 4, 2013
by MeEee
fromNM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
My roommate is a pushover and lets her hairy German Shepard lounge all over my couch, in our kitchen WHERE WE EAT, and in the laundry room so that there's always fur on all of our clothes all the time. My roommate knows that the hair is a problem and doesn't let her dog in HER room because... Get this.... She doesn't like all of the dogs hair in her room. I've talked to her about putting her dog in the yard (where a GERMAN SHELARD SHOULD BE ANYWAY) during the day while we're at work but she wants her dog to be "comfortable" inside the house while she's gone. Basically the dog is super spoiled and I can't discipline her dog because my roommate gets angry but at the same time refuses to train her dog to do anything at all. You really have to use this thing sparingly! It seems to be very potent! I've only used it twice on the German Shepard when she went into the kitchen and that rotten dog scurried away. My dog also has a bad habit of going into the kitchen (he's not allowed in there because I'm paranoid that I'm going to drop a knife and stab him with it, and he's a poodle so he doesn't really shed at all). He's only 25 pounds and I used it on him a week ago and I still feel so bad about it because he actually jumped and squirmed.... Traumatic for both parties I'm sure.... The German Shepard didn't have near as dramatic of a reaction but it was definitely effective. I don't know if it was more potent on my small dog because he's more sensitive mentally or because he's smaller physically. I don't think it hurts necessarily, but like I said I think it is very potent so use it only when absolutely necessary. I initially regretted buying this immediately after I paid for it and was planning on taking it back when it arrived (I ordered online), but it works so well! This is the perfect answer to my home troubles and I definitely recommend it to everyone who has a similar issue!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

do not purchase

December 3, 2013
by carjan
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Do not subject your dog to this device. Used it once for my dog and she became so upset she had to be held for hours. Taking it back to the store for a refund.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

waste of money

November 24, 2013
by doxi72
fromsyracuse, ny
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews
We purchased this because a friend of ours who has a dachshund said it worked great. While we waited for it to be shipped our friend said "oops, forget it". So I was hoping our experience would be better but NOPE! It worked once on our two dachshunds then they got mad and barked more the next time we hit button. So back to the store it goes.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews

disappointment

November 22, 2013
by Petpride
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 103 reviews
Item did not work in the least. No matter the reason for barking, my puppy will not stop. He only reacts to the beep that the egg makes when activated because he is curious of what I have in hand. I will be returning the product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sunbeam(r) Handheld Sonic Egg Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

I love it!!!

October 8, 2013
by cchasney
fromWarren, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews
I have a little Yorkie/Shih Tzu mix. She is the sweetest thing ever, but when people try to enter or leave our house (and these can be people she knows), or when the mailman comes, watch out. She turns into a psycho dog! I was beginning to fear that she would bite someone when they leave because she gets so upset and jumps on them. I have only been using this for three days, but boy what a difference. The minute she starts I hit the button and tell her no and she backs away about ten feet. What a relief. I am hoping that some day she will no longer need this, but for right now it is working beautifully and is a great training tool.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next