PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool

This de-shedding tool is specially designed to glide deep into your pet's undercoat to reduce shedding by up to 90%. Your pet will love the soothing massage as you safely remove loose fur.
Overall rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
23 of 27(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Review 1 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Wonderful tool

December 26, 2013
by Minniesmom
fromSt. Paul, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I use this on my sister's dog, a golden retriever, when I dog sit. Very pleased to see how much hair I'm able to get with each brush stroke. The dog just rolls on her back and on her side--loving every minute of it!
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention, shiny coat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

December 17, 2013
by kiper
fromWilmington, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
this shedding tool work very well on my collie
Pros: gentle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

Returning This Product

November 16, 2013
by KristiKev
fromWest Fargo, ND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Maybe this just doesn't work on cats. I tried brushing my cat with this product and it removed almost no fur. I will be returning this and trying out the Furminator.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

November 4, 2013
by gerlab
fromlos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding tool is excellent tool. My dog love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Awesome!!!

October 27, 2013
by Chessiebear
fromFlorida
I wish I would have known how well this works a loooooooooooooong time ago! I have a 12 1/2 yr old lab who sheds horribly all year long. He wouldn't stay still for the product a used before because it hurt. Now he lays down like he is getting a massage. Now my floors and rugs don't have a daily layer of dog fur on them:-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great Brush

October 25, 2013
by SheddingLab
fromSan Antonio, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Easy to use and gentle on the pet. Removes shedding hair and more. Works great.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

This thing is awesome!

August 11, 2013
by SStO
fromME
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I use this on my Golden Retriever (I use the one for long fur) at least 3x a week now in the summer. It works very well! I chose this because the price was right and it doesn't have sharper edges, they're more rounded and don't scrape his skin. He loves when I brush him with this. Worth every penny and works much better than a regular dog brush.
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

July 16, 2013
by Meliissaa
fromottawa ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
IM INLOVE I purchased this de-shedding brush after spending lots of money on other types of brushes and I'm just absolutely inlove I couldnt believe my eyes in just matter of seconds my dogs hair goes from looking all tangled and matted to beautiful I use it twice a week sometimes even three on both my dogs I have a siloh shepherd and a black lab they are pure breed and it works magic on them both. I would so recommend for everyone to use it on their dog(s) cat(s).
Pros: gentle, shiny coat, Shed Prevention
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great, Superb de-shedder!!

June 18, 2013
by PetLoverSince1976
fromMunster, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was looking for the best de-shedder at a price I wouldn't mind paying for. I researched Google and found a few other ones that were too pricey and would've taken too long to ship. I found this one at my local W**mart for cheaper - way cheaper. And it's the same one here and it works GREAT! Awesome product for my long haired cat.
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

BEST EVER EVER !!!

March 9, 2013
by WireHAIRED
fromToronto, Ontario
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Have Wirehaired Pointing Griffon Dogs. They have two coats. YES; they are non-shedding and hypoallergenic, HOWEVER they DO matt (inparticauler Winter Snow, etc.) and they do need attention once in a while (not an every-day grooming breed)
With hunter dogs, thistles and the like are a problem. Have gone through MANY MANY professional (and non) combs and brushes, and on a lark purchased one of these thinking I had 'lost' another $20.00 ...,
It is PERFECT
It is SO great I've considered purchased a couple of more to store IN CASE they stop making them.
Like all creatures should be, my dogs are WELL loved and deserve to not have hair pulled painfully, and have no matts pinching them - this works so well.
This REALLY gets the job done FAST and SAFELY!!!
Pros: gentle
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Couldn't be better!

January 30, 2013
by BettasUSA
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I purchased this product back in the summer. I have a 100lb Shepherd and boy does he shed! Being a plush coat type his hair is a little longer than a shorthair, so I figured I'd give it a try.
I was shocked the first time I used it, the second time and it continues! Since I have had it, I use it faithfully 3 times a week and whenever my dog and I go out on outings, especially to the park where its nice and open and I can just brush away.
People are often shocked by how much this thing takes off and how nice his coat looks after a 5 minute brush through and a good shake.
I have yet to notice any dulling of the product or any discomfort from my dog, like as if the brush is pulling his hair.
I'm not too sure if this will work great with fine haired, long haired dogs, but for those who own, rough coated plush to long haired dogs I highly recommend it. I think it would also be good to note that I think your dog should be a shedding breed for this brush, as I have tried it on the yorkie with no success, but it was never intended for him anyway.
Pros: Alot! Less shedding in the house, even though I still vaccumm daily / Strong build and easy to handle and operate / Small enough to travel with and doesn't have hair on it when your done, and for the most part even when your brushing! Hair mostly falls right off of it when there is too much! PRICE!
Your dog isn't bothered by it, in fact my dog loves it when I do his chest area as it tickles him and his leg starts kicking in excitement! Something I have never seen with other brushes.
Be like me and get one! and if you have finches or nesting birds gather the hair off the street or floor and make your birds happier than ever!
Pros: gentle, shiny coat, Shed Prevention
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

January 30, 2013
by dianne12
fromRoanoke, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
I purchased this tool to help with the shedding of medium-length cat hair. The tool worked very well for me, though on the belly and around the underside of the neck I wasn't able to get much fur at all. But I was surprised at how much fur I was able to get from the back and tail and sides. Since I have only used it one time, I think I will get more proficient as time goes by. I would recommend this for your pet. My pet, however, did not like this one bit, but he doesn't like being brushed either. I'm satisfied with my purchase!
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great Brush!

January 26, 2013
by Legasia
fromCuyahoga Falls, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I used to use one of those cheap brushes with the wires sticking out. Not only did it not really get the loose fur, but my cat hated being brushed! I got to use a Furminator that a friend had and decided I wanted that brush...Until I saw the price. That's when I found the ShedMonster. I decided I'd give it a shot and I'm glad I did! I couldn't believe all the loose fur it pulled off of my cats! It felt like I could brush them forever and the fur would keep coming! My cats look so much nicer and there is less fur laying around my home. And my cats now love being brushed! It doesn't tug on their skin like other brushes, so they come running when they see I have it in my hands! I definitely recommend this!
Pros: gentle, shiny coat, Shed Prevention
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Excellent

December 15, 2012
by Buddy95lblapdog
fromCambridge, Ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We purchased Furminator a couple of years ago after getting a Labradoodle. That product worked great, just as advertised. But what we found is that the Furminator has sharp teeth, and as much as you try to be gentle, you feel that the teeth are dragging along the dogs body. With the Shedmonster it's teeth are rounded, which glide along the body more easily, and you can tell instantly that our dog loves it, he doesn't try to get away when we use the shedmonster. As for removing hair, they are both close, I'd lean towards the Shedmonster but not my much. This product is great for long haired dogs.
Pros: gentle, shiny coat, Shed Prevention
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

GET THE FURMINATOR

August 21, 2012
by MDNA
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I owned this tool for a few days and tried using it on more than one occasion. Every time, the brush would remove little-to-nothing on all three of my cats.
I thought I was using it wrong so I even looked online and youtube and I was using it correctly.
I returned it and decided to get the more expensive FURminator. I recommend that tool 150%! It does the job!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

love it

August 2, 2012
by Jaxleigh
fromdenver, co
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this is NOT for a short haired dog - boxer, lab, etc. but it is an absolute godsend for my medium/wiry haired mutt.... i am amazed at the amount of undercoat this thing pulls out - --- i think it would be great on a golden retriever or a husky, etc. its just amazing.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

Doesn't work!

August 1, 2012
by IzzieMom
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought a ShedMonster last week for my yellow lab. I'm returning it this week because it doesn't do much. It got a small amount of fur out, but not even as much as I would get using a wire brush. Other reviews I read were positive, so I thought I'd go the more economical route, but I'm ready to make the investment in a Furminator now. I borrowed and friend's and the difference is beyond compare. Goodbye ShedMonster. You are a monstrous disappointment!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

One of the best shed control products out there

July 19, 2012
by Jeremysch1
fromWichita, KS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was a bit skeptical of this product because I have the $60 competition here, however it is sharp on the edge's and my black lab is very stand offish about being brushed with it. I decided to give this a try and to my amazement, he let me brush him for an hour with no problems! It removed the undercoat very easily and my baby couldn't be happier. I HIGHLY recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Excellent Tool! Great Price!

June 29, 2012
by Kataclysmik
fromLos Gatos, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I saw the Furminator brush and it looked great-but not for $60. I turned my attention to similar products, and boy am I glad I did.
This Brush is amazing! It is much more affordable and I cannot believe how much hair it removes!!! The employee at the store said this is the brush they use at their grooming stations and it is easy to see why. All my dogs loved it, they sat and wagged their tails while I accumulated enough hair to "grow" another pup. haha. You won't be dissapointed :D
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ShedMonster Professional De-Shedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Does what it says

June 20, 2012
by DonFG
fromSt. Peters, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 2 border collies, one medium and one is long haired. I have the long haired de-shedder. The tool works a lot better than the furminator that I also have. Glides through their coats and doesn't yank the hair when it hits a knot.
I found that it toke less time and I didn't have to fight with the dogs trying to hold them using the ShedMonster. This is one of the simplest products you can use on your dog.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next