PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit

This deluxe kit includes plenty of essential items to start you out as a pet owner. The kit includes a cage, bedding, food, treats, toys, an exercise wheel and more.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Review 1 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

June 12, 2013
by redjustice95
fromHanover,MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased as a starter home for my gerbil. It's a good first home if you need a cage when getting a gerbil but I wouldn't use it for the animals whole life.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Great cage, easy fix for one problem

May 22, 2013
by 4gr8kidz
fromBinghamton, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
As others have said, it's way to shallow for a burrowing critter. Easy fix, just add some plexi cage protectors. You can easily even get thin sheet plastic and cut them to fit yourself!! ( Just like the ones they make for bunnies cages!) Solves the only issue. My hamster loves to pile litter in one area, so I only needed two extra panels for the back and right side and poof, no more litter mess! Other than chewing the shelves, this cage is wonderful! She loves it and it's got plenty of room. I changed to a silent spinner wheel, but they are just my preference. It has great ventilation, it's easy to clean. I use a mini dustpan/broom set, then a quick wipe down with vinegar/water and it's good to go! She loves climbing all over and there are no tubes for her fat toosh to get stuck in! She also can't chew out unlike the plastic type tube ones, which I lost a hamster from chewing out of the plastic! Safe, easy to clean and an all around great starter kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

I Have A Question...

May 17, 2013
by Kat98
fromconcord
How many pets do you have?4
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Can you fit three gerbils in this cage?
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Good size/too shallow

April 27, 2013
by HammieMom
fromPensacola, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have two Russian dwarfs and it's a perfect size for both of them; however, the bottom is too shallow. Anyone with hammies know they dig and burrough. When they do, the bedding gets kicked out of the cage and goes everywhere. We've had this cage for about 7-8 months and we're about to get a new one with more depth.
It's a perfect start up kit though since it comes with good, a bowl and the gear.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Good, except for the floor (all metal model)

March 25, 2013
by Anonymous
fromLindon, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
The cage design overall is great, and allot more attractive than most. However, the floor is way to shallow. Bedding gets kicked up everywhere, and 2" is not enough for a hamster to burrow and keep comfortable in. If the makers had even tested it out at all they would have seen that. If the floor walls were just a few inches longer, like 6", it would be nearly perfect, and I would buy it again.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

March 11, 2013
by 0T87
fromCO
I love this cage so much!!!! My Syrian hamster Mr.Cream loves it!!! There is plenty of room and it comes with everything you need! It is a really good product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Not a Good Cage

February 20, 2013
by ChinchillaLover12
fromMassachusetts, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Well I got this for my fancy bear hamster and it is WAY too small. This cage is too small for Any hamster actually.. Just because it says hamster on it does not mean it fits the requirements for the size cage any hamster needs. Also the pan is WAY too shallow so you can not put any bedding in it and it gets kicked out so i had to put the cage in a box. The wheel was tiny and squeaked SO loud. The water bottle was surprisingly good and does not leak. Also the food is a really bad brand so you need to replace it.
Need To Replace:
Wheel
Food
CAGE
Hut
So basically your buying 40 dollar treats and water bottle..
SAVE YOUR TIME BUY A DIFFERENT CAGE!
Cons: price, low quality
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Best cage ever!

February 17, 2013
by Happyhamsters
fromChatham NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the best cage in the hamster cage world! My hamster Oreo loves it! I would recommend it to everyone in the universe who is looking for a cage for their hamsters!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great

February 17, 2013
by rose1035
fromMuncie,Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I got this for my rat it is very good. If you get it for a hamster it is like a luxury. I guess it okay on cleaning but every time I clean it the thing comes off that you shut it with.So it could just be mine but the cage is great. The bedding comes with a coupon and alot of things come with it.I highly recommend it.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My favorite cage!

February 13, 2013
by Griffylover
fromSt.louis mo.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I have bought a lot of cages for my hamsters and this one has been mine and my hammys favorite! I just lost one of my hamsters to old age and he spent his whole life in this cage. I'd like to know how many times he raced up and down those ramps! I'd hate to put a hammy in a one level home now, I feel like it would be cruel! Ha... he would make his bed on different levels at times ,spend a few nights then move again! You can see your pet in it good too. I think they like the open feel of the cage too. Made really super well! Good price and it is really pretty too! Very easy to clean also. If you need a cage this one will make you and your furry friend very happy!! Rosie and rosco's mommy
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Beware

August 2, 2011
by Paul678
fromOmaha
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Water bottle leaked out all of the water 1 hour after I filled it. Avoid the headache, avoid this brand and get a different brand.
Cons: low quality, price
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Bonus Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Love this cage!!!

July 17, 2011
by Hamian
fromCamarillo, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I have 2 mice and a few hamsters... for my several rodents, I purchased many of the cages that are half cage wiring and half plastic. I love the way those cages look, but I found them somewhat time consuming to clean. For the hamsters, those plastic/wire cages aren't bad, but I wanted to buy a new cage made of wire and metal for my pet mice.
Mice urine has a stronger odor than that of the hamsters, which means, first of all, their cages have to be cleaned more often, and second of all, I want their cages to be as ventilated as possible. I had a real hard time finding a good wire cage because a lot of them are too small, and I want my rodents to have as much living space as possible. When I finally found a cage big enough, to my disappointment, the space between some of the wiring was too large, and the mice walked effortlessly though the space between the bars. Finally, I found this cage at Pet Smart. I bought it from the store, so it was already assembled. Cleaning only takes about 15 minutes maximum, and it's very easy! It has a couple of levels, so it gives the mice plenty of room! The water bottle didn't really work... it leaked, but that wasn't a problem since I already had another one. I also replaced the wheel with a "Silent Spinner" because it was too loud.
I am considering starting Hamster breeding as a hobby, but I'm concerned with the time consumption... if I do end up breeeding, I will definately buy many more of these cages!!! They are really great quality, especially for the price! When you consider all the things that come with this cage, it really is a lot cheaper than many of the other cages on the market!!!
Pros: stylish, sturdy, easy to clean
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.