PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs

Enjoy a stroll with your canine with this walking collar. The collar provides gentle guidance and eliminates pulling to keep your dog comfortable. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Love product so far.

January 28, 2014
by ARY88
fromPeoria, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Bought this last night to use on my 9 month old 65lb Foxhound/Aussie mix. As of late I literally couldn't walk him. When I brought it home I immediately put it on him (in the house) and took it off about 3 minutes later, because he was freaking out. An hour later I put it back on him and immediately gave him a treat(when properly fitted they should be able to open mouth), and praised him and he did fine. He even fell asleep with it on while I pet him. Today I walked him for the first time with it on. He literally did not drag me once. He also responded to commands way better than normal (I wasn't jerking the leash or anything.) The only issue we had was a couple times when we slowed down he tangled his paws up trying to get it off, but I expected a couple snags until he gets accustomed to it. I plan to take him on short walks to avoid stressing him out too much, but I really think this product is amazing. So glad this worked because I refuse to use a choke chain, and don't want to use a pinch collar so it was kinda my last resort. Definitely recommend. I am not sure about the durability as I have only used it once on a walk, but it does seem comfortable. The piece the slides over the nose is padded, and nothing needs to be really tight to work. They should be able to open their mouth when properly fitted and two fingers should be able to slide in between the collar and their neck.
Pros: comfortable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Limited Success

November 22, 2013
by CorgiGrl
fromSo. Cal.
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
The works only when the dog wants it too. She used to pull hard all the time. Now she walks nicely right up until a distraction comes along. Then she has a great little move to slip out of it leaving you hoping that the neck loop will be strong enough to hold on its own. Meanwhile the whole harness becomes a big tangle that is tough to get back on. We have tried tightening and loosening and it doesn't seem to help. Unfortunately, it looks like there is no better alternative so we will probably keep it.
Pros: looks great
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

July 16, 2013
by Ally221
fromCanada
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This collar works very well on my Labrador retriever that used to pull a lot.Now she walks calm and doesn't pull anyone down the road.I would recommend this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Best Leash Training Tool

July 12, 2013
by Wyvernfire22
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I dog sit for friends regularly and many just flat out tell me their dog is impossible to walk. I always recommend this type of training collar for them and ask that they at least borrow mine and try it a week before I need to watch their dogs.
The feedback is great. Everyone loves the training collar and many get their own and tell me that they are a lifesaver. Since their dogs are used to them by the time I need to watch them, they respond beautifully and have no problems on their daily walks.
This is a great, well made tool and every dog owner should get one for training purposes. It is a lot safer than other methods and works very well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great product, instant results!

April 14, 2013
by VAChrisB
fromVirginia Beach, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have a 17 month old, 65lb, Lab/Catahoula Leopard mix who is full of energy. She was out of control when we'd walk her and thought we'd take a chance on this. Of course she struggled with getting it on and getting used to it, but we did a couple laps around the inside of the house before going outside and had IMMEDIATE results. No more pulling and we were in total control. Took her out for a 2 mile walk along busy streets, by people, other dogs, etc., and she kept walking forward with perfect behavior. Highly recommend to anyone having issues walking their dog!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great!!!

February 27, 2013
by Macegail
fromAZ
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I love this. It's strong and I'm in control of my dog:)
It adjustable and my dog can't slip out of it.
I should have gotten it sooner. you enjoy walks when you use this product:)
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Great Product

February 3, 2013
by PitbullD
fromIndiana
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
We purchased this product to help avoid pulling when we go on walks. It definitely helped! I liked that the look for the leash is located in front of the dog.
Pros: durable, looks great
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Amazing Tool to Correct Pulling

January 15, 2013
by mokee
fromPeoria, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I have a 9 month old German Shorthaired Pointer that weighs about 60 lbs and has a ton of energy. Unfortunately I fell a little behind with his leash training and it became simply impossible for my wife to walk him. No kidding ......this collar/harness has totally corrected his pulling! It's like walking a different dog. It did take a while to get it on him, and he tried very hard to get it off for a couple of minutes. After that he settled down and was absolutely amazing! No pulling .....at all. I can't really compare this specific brand to others, but I will say that this thing works!
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Instant Results

December 27, 2012
by kgil2591
fromUSA
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have a 10 month old lab/shar pei mix. He weighs about 70 pounds and is pure muscle. He would pull me around constantly. After I put this collar on him, he hated it at first and kept trying to take it off. Within 5 minutes, he was use to it, and was able to walk like a well behaved dog. He didn't pull me around at all, and I didn't even have to try to keep him on a loose leash. This collar works very well, I should have bought this months ago!
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Unbelievable, an amazing harness!!!!

July 20, 2012
by Pennylanie
fromPhenix City, Alabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a very strong and hyper Labrador. She loves to go on walks, but would get so excited that she would hurt me by pulling me down. I bought this harness after reading other reviews and I think it is the best money I've spent. We now walk together, not her pulling me around the neighborhood. We walk at a nice and relaxed pace, it is amazing how much more enjoyable walks are now, which means that we go more frequently. I highly recommend this to anyone with a dog that has problems with walking.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Perfect fit

July 19, 2012
by LRB4ever
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have used head collars for over fifteen years and always looking for improved designs. I really like this style the best. It is balanced around the snout on both sides of the mouth because of the design and does not ride up toward the eyes. It comes with a short safety lead from the head collar and attaches to the dog's regular collar. I will be using this stlyle and brand for now on. I thank the designer and I am certain so does my dog. I plan to buy all available colors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Product for a great price

May 10, 2012
by QTWIQ
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have a year old rescued whippet mix and she is in between a "xs" and a "small". I got the small and shortened then neck part by folding over about 1/8" and sewing it down. It now fits perfect since her snout was too big for an "xs". She accepted it on the 3rd try and walking her is a dream and she doesn't pull on her delicate neck. I am slowly removing the snout part on the last few minutes of our walk and she is not pulling as much . Great training tool and the saftey leash makes sure she is safe if she gets out of the collar. Love it.
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Amazing! Almost Magic...

April 8, 2012
by Breslin
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I took my dog to petsmart to get a new collar and leash when I came across this product in the training isle. I read the sizing chart and was guided by that. Although medium is too big for my Miniature Schnauzer that currently is 1 year and weighs 13.5 lbs. I had to go a size smaller (small.) I put it on her right that second while we were inside the store to see if it worked and little did I know that it is a Miricale worker! She had to get used to it at first but then she was right by my side in an hour! I highly recommend this product. :)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

A great product

February 14, 2012
by sarstu
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This head collar is a big improvement over ones I have used in the past. I especially like the wide padded nose piece. The whole collar is heavier duty, fits better and stays put better than competitors' products. As a professional trainer I appreciate a product that works as well as this one does. Truly power steering for dogs.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw(r) Training Walking Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

January 12, 2012
by TreeseReese
fromFayetteville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought one of these collars for each of my dogs because they both have problems with pulling while walking on the leash.I'm not sure if the collar I bought for my smaller dog is just too big, shes a schipperke mix and weighs 18 lbs so I got her the small size, but she can easily pull it off of her snout so it is impossible to use with her. The collar I bought for my bigger dog works great, it irritated him at first but he got the hang of it after a few walks. Now I can walk him without the collar and have slack on the leash.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.