PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs

This headcollar eliminates pulling on your dog's leash and allows for steering your pooch. The 100% nylon construction offers durability.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Review 1 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Works wonders and easy to use

March 9, 2013
by JojosZoo
fromJackson, Mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have a lab/pit mix who is a nightmare to walk as she has to sniff EVERYTHING and zigzags all over the place. I was useing another training collar, a plastic version of the spiked ones, and when that wasn't working in high distraction places I went to Petsmart to purchas one of the spiked collars. The young lady there told me about this product and how she herself has used it on her lab/pit mix and it worked wonders. At first my dog faught it, and that is only to be expected, but after a few moments of correction she was walking around the store as if she'd had years of obediance training. Went from the store to the park and walked for 25 min with no problems. Her pulling and zigzagging was almost non existant, it even worked when we came appon the arch nemisis of the dog..the squirl. A few gentle tugs and commands and we walked right on along. She didn't pull and lunge to go say hello to other dogs walking. She kept mostly to my side, and obayed the verbal commands much better then she would just the day before. I highly recomend this product, though she did say it may not work for all dogs. Some just can not stand it. Thankfully I do not have one of them dogs!
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

My dog is now a pleasure to walk!

February 24, 2013
by VeryPleasedx1000000
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have a 10 month old boxer puppy who has always been difficult to walk on a leash. He lunged and pulled and barked at absolutely everything.
We just took our first walk with his Gentle Leader headcollar and he's a whole new dog! I watched the DVD that was included with the collar and made sure to follow the guidelines. I strongly recommend watching the video; it includes many useful tips, no matter how difficult your dog can be.
I would recommend this collar to anyone, whether or not the dog was unruly. It is truly a blessing for us! I can take my baby for the walks he needs and not wear myself out just trying to control him.
Thank you, Premier, for such a wonderful product!!
Pros: comfortable, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Good product.

February 19, 2013
by FunkeyChicken
fromUtah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I had one of the Pet-smart employees show me this leader and I thought is was a cruel looking thing. I bought the leader a few days later after hurting from my dog pulling me. The next day he was walking next to me and we were both happier. This is a great product. If you use it make sure to watch the DVD and make sure it is put on proper.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Good product

January 24, 2013
by mcarlo
fromFredericksburg, VA
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I really like using gentle leaders to help with leash training and even behavioral training. The only thing I would like to see is a more comfortable piece for the part of the leader that fits over the dog's muzzle. I have heard of versions that have thicker nylon or padding to make it more comfortable for the dog and prevent chafing, but I did not find that product in the store. It would be nice to have those options.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great product

January 10, 2013
by Rachel0033
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
It's night and day between my dog wearing this and using just a collar and leash. His pulling has all but stopped and he's much more well behaved on walks. He did however, get ahold of it one day and chew it up so the quality could be just a little better.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Don't waste your money

January 10, 2013
by Minisaver
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I purchased the leader because it is advertised as a pull eliminator. I liked the pink color which is hard to find. It was expensive, ill fitting on my dog, and drove my dog nuts so she would scratch at her face and rub her face on the ground. After two weeks of use the harness broke apart at the seams as I was crossing the street with my dog. Lucky there were no cars coming our way. I will never buy another Premier product again!
Cons: poor quality, fragile, Doesn't Work on Training
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Complete Control During Walks

January 2, 2013
by SunnisMom
fromGainesville, Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Before I was educated about the gentle leader, I thought it was a muzzle. I soon found this to be false. Simply put, instead of a collar going around the throat, it goes around the snout. I have a 60 lb pitbull mix, and my dog wasn't used to this at first and flailed like a rodeo horse, but within a few days, she associated the gentle leader with walks and loved when I broke it out. It prevents my dog from choking herself during walks, saves my arm from being pulled out of the socket, and makes walks fun! I can literally walk her with a single pinky with the gentle leader on. When you first buy the product, don't immediately start going on walks with it: your dog will NOT be used to it. Instead, sit on the couch with them trying it on for a half hour or so for about two days. Also, pet parents with dogs who pull usually yank on thier dogs leashes when they are pulling. DON'T yank when they have a gentle leader on. The gentle leader does all the corrections for you! Whenever the dog tries to pull, the headcollar automatically correction the dog my turning its head. It's a great product, and I recommend everyone to at least try it :)
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

excellent!

December 15, 2012
by pauli
fromcolumbus ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
i have a 14 mo. old cocker spaniel. i absolutely dreaded taking her for walks or to the park, but she needs the excerise & of course to go to the bathroom. the walks would end w/me angry. my arms, back & knees would be hurting from the constant pulling from my dog Maggie. well, i was told about the gentle lead. wow!! i wish i knew about it 14 months ago. an instant fix. Maggie adjusted to it instantly. no more pulling. i took her to the park today. all i was saying was "good girl Maggie" & "you are doing so good". Maggie realized she can still smell things w/o having to pull. this product is worth the entire $25.00. i highly recommmend to anyone w/a pulling dog or puppy. just awesome. i will look forward to walks w/Maggie from now on!! :)
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Walking dog is a breeze with our Gentle Leader!

November 5, 2012
by StarCoLady
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
My son has a Springer Spaniel. The dog constantly pulled you around on your walk. After the end of his first obedience class, learning to use his new gentle leader collar, my 6 yr old can now take him on walks. No more pulling! He tried to get it off at first but now sits to have it put on. He can play fetch, drink/eat, and pant with it on. I would encourage anyone with a dog that pulls you around on your walk to try this.
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Highly recommended training tool

November 3, 2012
by FourLeggedClover
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Loved this product from the first opportunity to use & promote it in the veterinary field. Where the head goes, the body will follow - the same principles as a horse halter with gentle and fast response time. The people I've met who've not been impressed always skip or omit the period of introduction & positive reinforcement steps. Proper training is not a slap-on-and-go process! After a year of use our dog occasionally itches but quickly relinquishes any struggle to remove the harness. No irritation or chaffing has ever occurred (getting the right fit/positioning is important). Patience is key, and soft corrections really work! Our 50 lb Vizsla can hit mach speed in 3s. When we cycle or walk with the gentle leader, every family member (even the 6 year old) can control her with incredible ease. I prefer a blending shade comparable to coat colour as ppl have mistaken this as a muzzle. I am buying a second one for the truck today because its a valuable tool to always have on hand.
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Great but not great dane proof

July 24, 2012
by guineapigluver101
fromFayetteville, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product stopped my great danes pulling for a little while but she soon realized that it didn't take much to chew through and chewed up not one but 2 gentle leaders. She was an adult dog by the time we started using it so we are going to start our puppy great dane on it early to keep from pulling. It defiantly works though even for dogs over the recommend weight. Our old great dane was 125lbs and it controlled her like I said until she chewed through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Trainer Recommended

July 17, 2012
by Instructor
fromGreensboro, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have been a trainer since 2006 and I find that the Gentle Leader has been one of the best training tools I use in my classes. The back strap, IF FITTED PROPERLY, touches on a pressure point at the back of the skull, producing a calming affect. I stress this because improperly fitted Gentle Leaders are uncomfortable and cannot produce the desired affect. The muzzle strap allows your dog to eat, drink and play with toys comfortably. It mimics the actions of a wolf pack leader, closing the mouth when the pet has performed an undesirable action. This product is WELL worth your time and money. I strongly recommend having an Instructor demonstrate the proper usage for you. You won't be disappointed.
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

April 24, 2012
by 3for3
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
We have a minature poodle and I love this gentle leader. She walks with her head held high and no problems walking with us. If she jumps just a little tug and she stops and she's just a pup. Its great she walks the best with this leader the harness we tired she pulled and pulled and there's no pulling with this gentle leader.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Horrible Product

March 29, 2012
by Monkey150111
fromRiver Grove, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this for my Jack Russel Terrier and this does not stop him from pulling. It makes it worse. I don't recommend this product to anyone. He pulls more with it and can't control him with this product. Also it is cheap quality and will break after long use.
Cons: poor quality, not adjustable, Doesn't Work on Training
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Love it, Love it, Love it

March 11, 2012
by jm1598
fromRaymore, MO
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have a pretty good sized dog and if I use a regular collar and leash, she will pull me all over the neighborhood. With this collar, she needs little to no correction, walks right by my side or behind, and doesn't bolt for squirrels etc. It's a godsend.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Premier(r) Gentle Leader(r) Headcollar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

jules1

January 8, 2012
by jules1
fromWV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have a Black Lab, Rottweiller mix with a chest size of approximately 37 inches. His upper body strength makes it almost impossible to control him on harness. He is seven years old. I purchased the gentle lead several years ago. At first I wasn't getting it on right, so I went back to Petsmart, and they demonstrated the proper way to put it on. It took about a day or two for him to get used to it, and now he voluntarily sits and lets me put it on him. I can control him with it in any situation now. I have had the same lead for several years, and it still works great. It has been well worth every cent spent on it. While it is on, it serves as a sort of muzzle as well, although it doesn't restrict his eating, drinking or panting. I highly recommend it. I couldn't live without it.
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.