PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter

With its hard clumping for easy removal, ExquisiCat(r) Litter is a nearly dust-free alternative to traditional scoop litter.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Review 1 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Extremely dusty!

March 27, 2012
by safetyguy62
fromPalm Coast Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Product says 99.9% dust free. Actually it is 99.9% full of dust! The cat box is in my home office and my computer is now full of dust as are all my bookcases and shelves. My printer is also full of dust. It is good litter, does its job. The product is advertised as being 99.9% dust free, take this claim off the product and you have a good product that cats seem to really "GO" for! Pet smart sells Nature's Miracle Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter Item: 2750963. It is really 99.9% dust free. I used it and tried this Exquisi Cat Litter because of its claim to be 99.9% dust free. Never again, sorry Equisi cat, get the dust out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

super dusty!

January 27, 2012
by BreeBee
fromIndialantic, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I switched to this litter because I was tired of the dust from the normal scoop clay litter (scoop away). This claimed 99.9% dust free....NOT!! It is super dusty, when you pour it and when scooped. I've had to start wearing a home dust mask when scooping and pour new litter outside. I also have a air filter in the bathroom and it doesn't help much. Dust is on everything, even outside the bathroom! It also tracks very heavily. However, it does smell nice when fresh and the odor control is decent, as well as the clumping factor. And it is a lot lighter than normal clay. I normally buy the 20lb container. With 4 cats, 2 litter boxes, and scooping everyday, the whole tub lasts about 2 1/2-3 weeks. I would love to switch to the crystals but $60 a month in litter is to much. Will stay with this until I can do something different. If it wasn't so dusty it'd be great.
Pros: eliminates odor
Cons: messy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

This Stuff Is Terrible!!!!!

January 15, 2012
by leenia
fromPacifica, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This litter produced a TON of dust and the cats tracked it everywhere. I am so happy that I have finally used up the container. This is the worst litter I've ever used!!! 99.9% dust free???? HARDLY!
Pros: eliminates odor
Cons: messy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Way too dusty!

September 11, 2011
by Kdawg88
fromNew Hampshire
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Stick with regular scooping litter with baking soda. The odor control on this product isn't that great, and the dust is horrendous, even when scooping! I won't buy this product again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

cat preferred!

August 31, 2011
by geedubs
fromatlanta, ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i wasn't sure this stuff would be any good, so to make sure i kept clay litter in one box and this cedar stuff in another. it was dusty pouring, but that was about it, my experience sifting through was that there was very little kick-up. it certainly had a far more neutral smell than the over-perfumed clay stuff wich turns to a terrible ammonia-y smell with use.
over the week, the cats were noticeably choosing the cedar over the clay and after a week there was at least double the droppings in the cedar compared to clay (and i think they may have only deposited in the clay litter because the cedar was full!).
i like that it is lighter, clumps far better, the same (if not cheaper) in price, and has a nicer initial smell with no ammonia build-up over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Overall a good product

July 30, 2011
by Carol12345
fromSilver Spring, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 7 cats, and use a variety of litters. I like this product because of its odor control, but more than anything because it is lightweight and easier on my back. Another plus is that it doesn't turn into concrete like other scoopables can. However, as others have said, it is extremely dusty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Ridiculously dusty

June 22, 2011
by catlike
fromSan Francisco, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product does a good job with odors, but the amount of dust it gives off is ridiculous. Not only is it dusty when you're adding litter, but dust kicks up when you're scooping! Just what I needed to inhale...soiled cat litter dust. I started sneezing, too. It doesn't last as long as a larger container, as they say on the box, either. I'd sooner buy a less-dusty litter and add wood or cedar bedding myself to it.
Pros: eliminates odor
Cons: messy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Natural litter without the high price!

March 30, 2011
by 3kitties6paws
fromIndianapolis, IN
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I buy Exsquisicat litter all the time. For me, it's a good cat litter without having to pay the premium price. When Cedar came out, I had to try it. I was a little on the fence about it at first, but the superior odor control is what got me. We have 3 cats. It was nice to walk into the bathroom and not smell the box! I had neglected the litter box for 3 days. I was expecting quite a mess to sift out. Nope! The cedar soaks up the moisture from the urine, and also kills the smell and bacteria. I couldn't smell the feces that much either. I don't use scented litter because one of my cats is sensitive to the perfume. It's nice to finally find a cat litter that smells great, does the job, is natural, and I don't have to pay out the whazoo for it. It's a little dusty when you first put it in the box, but after it settles its ok. My cats haven't kicked up any dust using it. 2 paws up from each cat on this one!
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ExquisiCat(r) Cedar Lightweight Scoop Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Excellent at Odor Control

March 30, 2011
by Bernadette26
fromSan Francisco, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This litter has excellent odor control, there is no urine smell. I have 5 cats and clean the litter box often. This litter is very lightweight and does not stick to the bottom of the litter box, which makes cleaning the box easier. A 14 lb. container is said to be equal to 28 lbs. of regular clumping litter.
It says 99 percent dust-free, but I thought it is very dusty when pouring the litter, and there is some tracking of the litter right in front of the litter box. I have a regular covered litter box, and a "Clever Cat" top entry litter box. It is great with the top entry litter box because that box has no tracking. I use a mat in front of the regular litter box. (a third litter box uses a different litter)
Because there is no urine smell, the entire box does not have to be changed as often (as long as it is regularly scooped), when the level goes down just add more litter. The cats seem to like this litter.
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.