PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle

Precision stainless steel no drip valve Pet Plastic, BPA Free Flat-sided bottle hugs cage Easy to use spring holder with quick connect clips Top fill bottle Bottle attaches to outside of cage, with valve resting on a cross bar for support
Overall rating:
2.312 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
6 of 16(38%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Review 1 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Horrible Product

August 31, 2013
by Trenix
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was skeptical, but the general idea with products is whatever is more expensive usually is "better". However that wasn't the case with this bottle. It was a pain to hook up, literally. My rats couldn't even get a drop out of it, even after I should them how to use it. I also witnessed the bottle leaking, which defeats the whole purpose of purchasing this what-so-ever.
This product is going off the shelves, which is why I got a much cheaper deal on it. I'm assuming this product wont last much longer. I'm pleased to see I wasn't the only one disappointed. Time to return it..
Cons: poor quality, leaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Very quiet!

July 25, 2013
by Beachblonde2986
fromIn Gresham, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My two rattles loved their traditional ball gravity water bottle. I hated it though. It is so loud and my babies drink all night long, waking me up constantly. I decided to get this spring water bottle a try. There is no noise, is the perfect size and my rats are figuring it out. I worry that they aren't getting enough water only because I can't hear it! I have seen both of my babies drink from it though. I have tested it with my finger lightly to make sure they could drink. I love this water bottle and recommend it to anyone who hates the annoying noise from the traditional water bottle. I give it 4 stars only because it is a little more difficult for my rats to use but they still figured it out.
Pros: durable, Spillproof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Doesn't deserve 1 star!

May 10, 2013
by TheodoreBeethovenMia
fromSalisbury,MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two male guinea pigs, they absolutely hated this bottle. They could hardly get any water out of it! when I would mess with the tip where the water comes out and no water would come out unless you pushed the little bar on the inside of the tip in. Such a waste for something pricey that doesn't even work.
Pros: Spillproof
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

December 22, 2012
by cady
fromSeattle
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have the flu, but my piggies' water bottle was leaking, and so I walked my very sick self to the store. I asked the Petsmart employee to make a recommendation and she handed me this bottle. At $20 it was pricy, but I was too sick to argue. I came home, put the bottle in, threw out the packaging, and passed out till morning.
I woke up to my poor piggies desperate for water. They were trying to get water out of this bottle, but you have to push the lever down 10-15 times for a single drop.
I'm still sick, my piggies have a water bowl in their cage (that they don't care for) until I can get my now throwing-up, can't even keep water self down to the pet store to purchase yet another water bottle. And since I stupidly threw out the receipt etc, I can't even return this one.
Worst guinea pig product I have EVER bought.
Cons: poor quality
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Don't Buy This Product.

July 29, 2012
by Sophia5102
fromPaw Paw, Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this water bottle for my four rats for over $20 dollars. It holds a good amount of water and I like the opening lid. Problem: My rats can't use it. They just don't get water out and no water means pointless water bottle. On the brightside, you NEVER have to refill it since my ratties can't even get the water out.
Pros: Spillproof
Cons: poor quality
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Lixit is unsatisfactory

July 18, 2012
by CACTX
fromDFW, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Purchased one of these a week ago from my locak Petsmart. Box indicates to closely monitor pet water intake while it learns the system. Glad I did because my rabbit did not consume any water on day 1. After looking up FAQ on manufacturer's web site they indicate unit should dispense water anytime the lever is moved off center. My unit is defective and will not dispense any water. For an expensive bottle you'd think the failure rate would be near zero but apparently not with this unit. I'd recommend you test one in the store if you're tempted - it may well save you a return trip.
Pros: Spillproof
Cons: poor quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

My Dwarf hamster loves it!

July 9, 2012
by RitzCrackerz
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamster loves to drink from this bottle! It is very convenient to use this bottle because I can easily refill it (my hamster drinks a lot!) and I can put ice to give a cold water for my hamster. The leaking problem can be fixed by adjusting the needle in the middle.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: leaks
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

June 27, 2012
by doctorsmiles
fromdallas tx
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
it is quite but when i fill it up it leaks on me
Pros: durable
Cons: leaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Works Great but Started Leaking!!

April 29, 2012
by Chickens
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This water bottle was great for the first few months! It did not leak one bit and my rats could easily drink from it. But now it has started leaking to the point of creating a puddle in the bottom of the rats' cage! I don't know if I got a defective one or what, but it did not last long.
Pros: durable, easy to clean, Spillproof
Cons: leaks
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Not a good bottle

January 30, 2012
by RainbowVicious
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this water bottle from my parents for Christmas because my other water bottle had started to leak, this one doesn't leak at all, but like others have said it's to the point where my guinea pigs couldn't drink out of it.
It worked for the first two-three days, but then stopped.I even tried to see if they were just having a preference towards the other water bottle I have (I had the water bottle I used for my mice, which isn't a small bottle but it isn't big enough it only holds about 1/2 a days water amount for my boys, as well as this one to reduce any chance of fighting between the boys) and sure enough, it just wasn't working.I tried seeing if I could get it to work by messing with the metal stick thing, I had to hold it down for about 10-15 seconds, or keep pushing it down repeatedly for the same amount of time basically, just to get ONE drop of liquid.I'm glad I looked on here to see if it was only mine or if it was a reoccurring thing, I was tempted to buy another to see if this one was defected, but it seems like a lot are like this.
I do NOT recommend this bottle if you want your animals to drink.Great idea, great size, but it doesn't give water.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

The water doesn't flow

December 27, 2011
by Christee
fromAE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my chinchillas months back in hopes that they could have a longer and better water supply. This is definetely leak proof, but to the point that they can't get any water at all. I tried moving around the small metal tab it has, but to no use. It's definetely a great size for a nice water supply, it just didn't give them any water.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Worst thing I have ever bought.

December 9, 2011
by AlexandraL
fromDetroit, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My new guinea pig was having a hard time drinking from the normal water bottles with the ball in them. I thought this would be great! And it was until it broke, and no water was coming out. I bought a second one thinking maybe the one I got was defective. And then it broke too. So now I have spent $30 on a product that is a really great idea, but only works for the first week.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Hard for my rats to drink from

November 6, 2011
by RatCatSnakeMommy
fromSt. Louis Park, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This water bottle doesn't have a ball bearing in the stem; instead it has a lever that has to be pushed down in order to dispense water. Well, when my rats lick it, the lever is pushed up so no water comes out. They have to twist their head almost upside down in order to get anything. It's great that it doesn't leak, attaches securely to the cage, and is easy to fill, but what good is all that if it doesn't fulfill its main purpose, which is giving water to my rats without them having to do gymnastics? Plus it's more expensive than a traditional ball bearing water bottle.
Pros: durable, Spillproof
Cons: poor quality
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Mini Satin Rabbit

September 3, 2011
by JMT8
fromChicago, IL
I got this to replace a leaky water bottle. The rabbit would not drink from it because the end is somewhat sharp. It is nice to fill from top if I could use it.
Pros: easy to clean, durable
Cons: poor quality
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Best bottle EVERY.

August 10, 2011
by Etrie
fromPeoria, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used to have a rabbit with a similar bottle, but when I had to get rid of him, his bottle went with him. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to find a small-scale one for my rats when I decided to get them, but I'm SO glad I did! The flat side is wonderful, and it's very durable. Doesn't leak one bit, so doesn't ruin bedding or cause mildew.
Only problem is that the spring that you wrap around to attach it to the cage is very hard to stretch far enough. I am unable to attach it myself, and have to have my husband do it for me.
Pros: easy to clean, durable, Spillproof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lixit (r) Quick Fill Flip-top Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

LIKE NO OTHER!!!

June 4, 2011
by guineapigs101
fromFayetteville, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the best product out there!!! I would definitely reccommend this to a friend. It doesn't leak at all. I have not had much success in the past finding a water bottle for my guinea pig that doesn't leak that much. The one that I replaced with this bottle leaked all over the bedding before my guinea pigs could get to the water. I needed to replace it a little less than every 4 hours. I had ended up with it when I got my most recent guinea pig. He needed a water bottle so I went to the store and got the first one I saw. It worked for a couple days with little leakage but soon after it was soaking up the bottom of the cage and wasting loads of bedding. Because my cage is a 2 level 7x3 C&C cage I really had to make sure I got the best deal and didn't spend too much money on bedding. The bedding I get is Eco bedding. I order it online and get about 20 bags of the largest size for my boys' cage. I have 8 piggies, 4 females and 4 males. The males cage is filled with bedding but the females cage is filled with fleece. The reason for this is I discovered my females tend to only go the the bathroom in one corner of both of their floors in their 2 level 7x3 C&C cage. So I place one potty tray in each of those corners and change them once everyday. MY boys are another story. They go the the bathroom all over the place so I need to use bedding in their cage. But it isn't that bad. I bought about 6 of these bottles. They are the best product I have ever bought. They hold the perfect amount of water. They are easy to clean because of their shallow stubby shape and they do not leak into the guinea pigs cages. I would never go back to my old water bottles. The guinea pigs can easily get water out of the bottles but when squeezed nothing comes out. I do reccommend not flipping the bottle over though because the easy to open flip top does leak. But realistically there is no reason to be tipping it over. The bottom of the bottle is flat so it can just be set down. The spout could be longer but that isn't that much of a problem. The cage attatchment it came with holds it onto the cage very well and there is barely any movement. The guinea pigs cannot chew through it because it hangs on the outside of the cage. I have had a couple water bottles that hung inside the cage and a hole was soon chewed or bent into them. This is the best product you could ever get. It doesn't ruin bedding and ca last a lifetime.
Pros: easy to clean, durable, Spillproof
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.