PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Critter Universe ECO

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Critter Universe ECO

4 top opening ports for multiple tube connections Escape proof door Secure/locking cage top door
Overall rating:
3.364 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
13 of 22(59%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Critter Universe ECO
Review 1 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

This is pretty bad...

July 10, 2013
by GlitterGirl1357
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
This cage is expensive, It's not very good quality for the price. My Hamster hates it... so I went out and got him a Super Pet CritterTrail One and he loves it :) so don't get this one get the Super Pet CritterTrail One.
Cons: price, low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Too small!

June 28, 2013
by HammyLuver14
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Would be ok MAYBE for a baby dwarf, or a temp. cage.. but I put my syrian in there and took him out ASAP. It was obvious that he didnt like it... and it was way to small! :/
Pros: sturdy
Cons: price, low quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

cheap metal

May 21, 2013
by raegan13mommy
fromthis universe
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
This product is fair. But for 25$ I would expect better quality. My door on the front where it latches eventually wared down to the point where it snapped off. I went out and bought my hamster a crittertrail pink and its way more bang for your buck than this one.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
Cons: price, low quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Good for non-fat hamsters

May 5, 2013
by Gloria13
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
I got this cage for my daughter for her birthday along with a hamster. It is easy to set up and clean. The only thing we don't like is that the water bottle hangs to low for the hamster to drink the water. So we put rubber bands around the bottle so it stays up. It works but the bottle still slips and its really annoying. Also the wheel is kinda small once the hamster got bigger. But overall i would recommend this product.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Stupid cage

January 22, 2013
by Suzy10045
fromMinnesota, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
We got this cage and the water bottle is to big for the cage so we put a pencil ( or pen ) so that the water bottle can be higher.
Pros: easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

horrible.!

January 13, 2013
by Rachel1324
fromboca raton, fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
This cage is so cheap that my tiny dwarf hamster managed to bend the bars and escape! Water bottle is too low and horrible also. Overall a bad cage and very small
Cons: low quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

its ok

December 23, 2012
by panthergecko77
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
i got this cage for my hamster Rocky the top is hard to get on and the water bottle drops water a lot and wheel is a little loud and it didn't come with a little house for your hamster so we built one out of legos so over all it would be a good first cage but later on you need to get a differant one
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

not really good cage

November 11, 2012
by crazyhamster
fromBraselton,Ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
I got the cage when i first got my hamsters it is pretty good my hamsters seem to like it and it is very easy to put together and is very easy to clean.But the thing on top of it broke so now on of the things will not go into the little slits.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: low quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

It will work for a while

November 9, 2012
by ethan4ges
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I like this product.Its ok.i don't recommend it. It will work for a while but soon you need to get a new one
Cons: low quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

October 12, 2012
by May218
fromMiami, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I loved this cage my hamster loves it only issue i have is the water thing it leaks once in a while and I never seen my hamster use it and one thing is the running wheel he never uses it does anyone know what can I do to make him use it :( and can I connect tubes to it ? Some one answer please
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

horrible!!!

August 27, 2012
by syd6111
fromGeorgia, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
my dwarf hamster kept squezing through the bars and got out......luckily we found him. i do not reccomend this cage!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

good cage

August 23, 2012
by hammylover1254
fromNew York,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this cage in the starter kit,and its a good beginner cage but i suggest after at least a year you get another cage. The only thing bad is the water bottle and the wheel the wheel is VERY noisy and the spout on the water bottle is straight but you can elevate it with a hairband. Over all I recomend this cage for beginners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great

August 13, 2012
by secretangel
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this product is great my 2 Chinese dwarfs and they love it. It's price is resalable for all the things included. the one bad thing is that my Hamsters Maralana and Tigger LOVE the wheel and I'm fine with that but the wheel squeaks and bounces all the time thank god they
have their own room or i would die cuz Mar never gets off that wheel!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Good cage for my dwarf

July 9, 2012
by RitzCrackerz
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is the first cage I bought for my dwarf hamster and she loves this cage. The cage is deep enough to put extra beddings and it has great air ventilation. A couple of bad things in this package are the water bottle and the wheel. My hamster struggled to drink from the water bottle because the ball inside gets stuck inside after a few sips. I had to buy a different water bottle and throw out the old one. My hamster loves the wheel but it makes a lot of noise when she uses it. She also likes to sleep under the wheel for some strange reason.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

GOOD CAGE

June 23, 2012
by AlliCat
fromVirginia, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a good cage for a rat or hamster if you are planing to put two of them together because just one isn't big enough.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Good cage.

March 21, 2012
by lilpupkinz
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
A really good cage but the only complaints I have are that the water bottle is a little hard for the dwarfs to drink out of, and that the lid doesn't stay on too well.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

It's Okay

February 6, 2012
by jdogcool
fromJefferson, Wi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
This product is an overall good product. Warning, don't get this cage if you plan on getting that Robo Dwarf Hamster; it will escape through the slots between the bars. Also, this cage is of low quality and cheap plastic. In conclusion, this is a good and stylish product, but won't work with Robo Dwarf Hamsters and is cheaply made.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
Cons: low quality
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Ok for a first cage

December 6, 2011
by 2miceandababy
fromSpringfield, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We just bought two mice 5 days ago. I have never had them and was just trying to find a cheap cage that would do the job. It is very small and the lid did not stay on very well. My mice did like the wheel but not too much room to move around. They would not drink from the straight nozzeled water dispenser. If needing a cheap beginner cage, this would work for a while.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Decent Cage

November 8, 2011
by PatchesMommy
fromBaltimore
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was so happy with this product that I purchased several of them. I have many hamsters and this is an excellent deal, especially the kit that comes with bedding and food. The only thing that I changed was the water bottle because no hamster I have ever had or heard of has liked the bottle with the straight spout. Plus its not good for their necks.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Critter Universe ECO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Speedy Gonzalez

September 13, 2011
by Damien
fromNew york Ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
I bought this for my new Robo dwarf 'Damien' and he loves the wheel, he also loves climbing the cage when i try to get him lol.
Pros: sturdy, easy to clean
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next