PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Seachem Ammonia Alert

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Seachem Ammonia Alert

Keep aquatic environments safe with the Seachem Ammonia Alert. This convenient sensor provides continuous monitoring and detection of toxic free ammonia and alerts you to its presence. Featuring an easy-to-read color alert system, the sensor detects as a little as 0.02mg/L of free ammonia. The small, unobtrusive design will not detract from the look of your aquarium, and the sensor can be used in marine and freshwater environments.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Review 1 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Waste of money!

May 4, 2013
by Sasharrr
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I bought the kit when I was starting my tank. Thought it would be perfect to help me keep my levels at bay. But nope, did a water change and used a water testing kit and realized these sensors don't work at all. It was displaying safe ammonia and my levels were way too high. pH seemed to work for the first week but after I did two water changes it stays at pale yellow. So annoying.
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Got a Bad One

January 31, 2013
by Snowman10
fromMinneapolis
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Yes, I know what this is supposed to measure and yes, I took off the plastic strip before using it. When I bought this, the center circle was gray and after three days in my tank it still was gray. I put it over an ammonia bottle and it turned blue, put vinegar on it and it turned yellow, just like it should have, but in the tank during an ammonia surge, it was still gray. In distilled water, it's gray. Seems like it should start out yellow, not gray. Gray's not even a color on the sensor, which goes from yellow to blue. I used a liquid test to find the ammonia surge when my water suddenly got cloudy and it showed very high levels, while the sensor showed gray (whatever gray means). And, Yes, I know what liquid kits measure. After a bunch of partial water changes folllowed by two 50% ones over a few hours to gradually reduce the ammonia levels, the liquid kit showed ammonia near my tap water levels, but the sensor was still gray. The sad part of this is I neglected water changes for two days in my overcrowded, and soon to be moved to a larger tank, fish collection because of the bad sensor and now I have a Platy and an Oto on the bottom of my tank trying hard to make it. I wish I had known what color this thing was supposed to start out with before buying it.
Cons: didn't work
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

cant figure out how to get it to work

October 18, 2012
by bk47
fromMI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
i got both this one and the one for ph testing, ive had them for 3 weeks now, and i still cant figure out how to get them to work. granted ive never tried them before, but still yeah, cant figure out how to make it work. and yes i did do my best to follow the directions :)
Cons: didn't work
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Great but beware of PH readings

September 5, 2012
by Lschinaia
fromIn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
This is a great tool, it keeps track of my free ammonia levels which are the most harmful, BUT it says in very small print on the back "does not work with PH readings under 6.0" so unless your tank is consistently alkaline it's not a good buy. Also it could be cheaper but overall it works well.
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

amazingly simply!

July 18, 2012
by 5150hoke
fromatlanta, ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
this item works just as described. it reads only free ammonia, not total ammonia. free ammonia is the part that kills fish. the people saying it doesn't work don't get what makes this product so dang great. all test kits out test only total and not free, so often you get a positive test when in fact there is no problem. simple and way, way better than the ones the other company is selling. this thing last a full year. if you don't think it works simply hold one over an open bottle of ammonia cleaner and test it your self.
wow!!! great...
Pros: works great, easy to use
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Great Product

May 28, 2012
by FishAquarist
fromSt Louis
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
This product works as advertised, mine did take a few days to equilibrate like it said on the package but other than that i would def buy again. Easy to use and read just take out of the package and stick it in your tank, that simple
Pros: works great, easy to use
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

These really work

December 31, 2011
by Musselhead
fromSpringfield MO
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I validated these in the lab and they are excellent. Be aware that they detect UNIONIZED AMMONIA, not total ammonia like the salicylate tests that are commonly sold in pet stores. This is great because unionized ammonia is the toxic form, and it depends not only on total ammonia but also on pH. They respond within a few minutes to an increase in NH3, more slowly to a decrease. Highly recommended, especially if you have a lot of tanks to check daily.
Pros: easy to use, works great
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seachem Ammonia Alert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Worth the $

May 29, 2011
by Doglover89
fromRoseville, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I saw the strips and this... for the price of strips and this were about the same but this lasts for a year! Ive put both my thermometer and this on the bottom right and it works perfectly. You can view it no problem!
Ive take water in twice for petsmart to test and they say its perfect..
wish the PH version of this lasted longer then 3-6 months or they make it a little cheaper!
Just dont touch it once you peel the sticker off!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.