PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats

Keep your pet smelling clean and fresh with this scented shampoo. Ideal for cats and kittens 12 weeks and older, this shampoo kills fleas, ticks and lice and adds a beautiful luster to your pet's coat.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Review 1 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Product works

December 22, 2013
by R3dOtaku
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Product has helped keeps the fleas away. It has also helped make their coats soft. It smells fine. Too many people expect miracles. This product like any other product requires multiple use and also other measures to be taken such as cleaning the environment, not just the pet. If used correctly in this manner, the product does work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

terrible

July 19, 2013
by antoinettep
fromlong island
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
did not work at all
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Good Buy.

February 3, 2013
by arizonasus
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This worked miracles to get rid of a bad case of fleas. Truly amazing, I highly recommend!
Pros: gentle, shiny coat
Cons: Fragrance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Too early to tell, but I think it'll work well.

January 17, 2013
by Effs
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
I just gave my cat a bath with it last night, and like others have said, he shed a bit during the bath, but hasn't shed as much as he did before.
Since he's an indoor/outdoor cat (my family leaves the back door open so our dogs can come in and out of the backyard as they please, and Mika will go out and roam around for most of, if not the whole, day.), I don't know if the product will work as well for him as it does for indoor cats.
His fur was softer later that night, after he was fully dry. As for fleas, I've only seen him scratch once - maybe twice - but it could very well just be because he had an itch. So far, so good.
Pros: Shed Prevention, Fragrance
Cons: Shedding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Terrible product!

January 16, 2013
by KittyMom1
fromKY
How many pets do you have?2
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Our strictly indoor cats somehow managed to get fleas just before Thanksgiving. I decided to try this method plus flea collars instead of the drops because it was cheaper. Big mistake! Not only did I have to go through the horrible experience of giving both our 15 lb kitties a bath, the fleas did NOT go away. Within 2 days the cats were both scratching harder than they had before. Took it back to the store and got a refund. Petsmart was very nice about refunding my money. Got the Advantage product instead, and it seemed to start working almost instantly. Within a few hours the cats were both napping and hardly scratching at all. By the next day there was virtually no scratching. Definitely recommend Advantage over this! Costs more but definitely worth it!
Pros: shiny coat, Fragrance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

cat has fleas after 2 days

July 31, 2012
by creamsickle
fromnashville, tn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
let me say that my cat's fur looks great after shampooing her...BUT
facts:
the only place i see fleas are on my indoor cat.
i've bombed her room.
i've tried the flea collar.
i've tried the drops on the back of her neck.
now two days after shampooing she has fleas again.
label says to only use the shampoo every two weeks...do i really have to wait two weeks?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

May 31, 2012
by sarah1
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I have an indoor/outdoor cat who tends to get fleas really easily. We got this shampoo and it works really well. All her fleas were gone and it smells really good and keeps her smelling clean and fresh for a long time. We love it!
Pros: Fragrance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Works good

May 26, 2012
by Turtleturtle
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
This seemed to work well. Fleas run where shampoo can't be applied. So we had to kill a few that were on his face. After all that we haven't seen anymore. As soon as i got him wet and applied soap fleas were dead.
Pros: gentle, Fragrance
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Does not get rid of all of the fleas!

February 23, 2012
by rnc618
fromHouston, TX
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
After wetting my kitten down with warm water, really lathering up the kitten with this soap, letting it sit for 10-12 minutes, then rinsing her with warm water, TWICE in 2 days, there were still a few fleas crawling around her body and face immediately after washing her. And it only takes a few fleas to repopulate their host.
We tried to use a flea comb, but I want to see someone try to 1) get her to sit still, 2) try to even get that comb deep enough to grab every single flea.
Pros: Fragrance
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Works Wonders

September 11, 2011
by SatisfiedCustomersaur
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It was tricky trying to keep my cat in the tub but she hasn't been scratching since the first couple of days after the bath. I guess it worked. :) Too bad I can't use it on my carpet.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

SMELLS GREAT & WORKS!

July 18, 2011
by luvmykatz
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ok, so we brought this home today and had to give our 3 cats a bath. Yesterday I found a bunch of fur and dander on my black glass top range when we got home. I took a very close look and a piece of the white dander started to move! I was horrified! I got on the internet and found out it was lice. So, we immediately applied Advantage II to all 3 cats and to our Dog. Then I did a search for Shampoo and found this, picked it up and bathed all the cats really well. My home is immaculate, so I washed, cleaned, vacuumed anywhere the cats are. I feel we took care of it. This shampoo worked really well. I brushed the cats afterwards, examined the hair under magnification... no dander, no lice!! It's all gone!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sentry(r) PurrScriptions(r) Flea and Tick Shampoo for Cats
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product