PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment

Kordon Ich-Attack 100% Natural Ich Treatment is safe for reefs and live-rock marine aquariums and uses a 100% natural herbal formula based on naphthoquinones.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Review 1 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

I always have a bottle on hand!

January 28, 2013
by Shirobird
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love that this ich treatment is all natural and is usuable for both freshwater and saltwater tanks. This treatment works if you use it when the ich barely starts. If you let it get bad, most treatment will not work. I use this and raise the temperature (ich does not like the warm water). Works wonders!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

This Works Great as long as...

November 5, 2012
by JasonG
fromFrederick, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
To use this product you need to understand your enemy. Ich can only be killed when it is free swimming (i.e. not a white dot on your fish). This product may work for major outbreaks, but will take a few months. It is Extremely effective when you catch the fish with 1-2 spots. The advantage of this over other products is it is safe for inverts and plants. It is actually beneficial for some plants!
To make this product work:
- Take out the carbon in your filter (carbon removes medications)
- Turn up the heat 86 F is recommended (speeds up the life cycle of ich - makes it fall off fish and eventually become free swimming)
- Double the dose (1ml/gal twice daily)
- Do lots of water changes (you are removing ich by doing this and the fish love the water change boosting their own immune systems)
Some nasty strains of ich are super resistant. If this is the case and you see more ich spots forming within the first few days you need to move to something stronger.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Worked for me!

August 3, 2012
by HappyFishMom
fromSac, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
After reading other reviews and researching on the internet, I went with this product to combat ich that had broken out in my tank. Maybe my outbreak was not too bad (one young rainbowfish had a number of ich spots, a couple of other fish just had a couple), but I turned up the temperature, took out the carbon filter, and did double and triple doses the first few days, and after a week the ich was gone. I continued treatment to make sure I got all of the ich in the water for another week, and all of my fish survived and are happy.
Now, this stuff is a yucky brown color, and it makes your tank look murky, but it is a small price to pay for a couple of weeks when all your fish are ich free and happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Didn't work for me, even at 3X the dosage

June 25, 2012
by FIshLover66
fromRI
Perhaps I would have had better luck with a less resistant form of ich. While it did lesson the number of white spots, it never really irradicated them, even after two - three weeks of treatment with double to thriple the dosage and high heat.
I couldn't wait to stop using it as it smells and turned the aquarium water so dark I could barely see my fish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

KORDON ICH AWAY!!!

March 7, 2012
by MONSTERFISHBREEDER
fromLANSING,IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I used this great product when my large Tiger Oscars had ich,Ichthyophthirius multifiliis.This product is great no matter what everybody says it doesn't work,well it does just follow directions.every day i did a 25% water change.this also helps.and it doesn't stain your aquarium silicone.just have a spoon when dosing medication.also remember 1 full tablespoon for every 10 gallons of water.I highly recommend this product.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

this product does not work at all

May 17, 2011
by nantuck
fromPaducah, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
I have a 150 gallon marine tank. I have gone through the whole bottle (the large one) and the ich is worse. It did nothing but make the water stink and turn brown.
Cons: didn't work
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Don't waste your time.

April 16, 2011
by JoeyV
fromBoardman, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
I bought this product after I noticed one of my gold gourmai's had ich. Being that it is all natual was the reason I was interested in it. Treated as directed for the first couple of days with no results. I do understand that it could take up to a month to get rid of ich. After one week the ich got much worse and I even tripled the dose as the product said you could. After another week I used a different product. Ich Attack simply will not get rid of ich. This product also smells horrible and the amount I put in my sixty gallon aquarium made it smell horrible as well.
Cons: didn't work
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

I've been using Ich-Attack for five years

March 9, 2011
by JudyD
fromLima, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
When I first started using Ich Attack I had a cray fish so couldn't use anything more harsh. Ich Attack has worked for me for five years - although I have never had a major outbreak (only one or two spots). I start treatment at the first sign of Ich. I also used Ich Attack as a preventative each time I added a new fish. I have since found other products I use to boost immunity when adding new fish, but I still keep a bottle Ich Attack on hand.
Read the other review (posted in Feb 2011) as it is a good one. If Ich Attack doesn't work for you, then you have other issues in your aquarium that need to be addressed. Your fish are obviously too stressed out.
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kordon(r) Ich-Attack(r) 100% Natural Ich Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

It works, but it takes time.

February 17, 2011
by Fyrewolf
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I have a 5 gallon set up with a male betta, three glo lite tetras and three khuli loaches. Using the 10 gallon dosing instructions has proven to be safe for every fish in the tank. The instructions don't say to raise the temp on the tank, but a temp increase makes the ich "hatch" faster and in return the ich dies faster. Make sure to treat for at least a week after all white spots disappear as this product doesn't kill the ich while it is still on the fish.
Pros:
Natural product so it is safe for most fish. No chemicals involved
Does not appear to cause added stress to fish
Does not appear to be affecting PH
Doesn't dye the tank funky colors
No need for water changes after each treatment (keep a regular water change schedule though and clean the gravel)
It actually does work
Cons:
Smells terrible. Don't spill it anywhere! It stains too. A pro to this con is that the tank doesn't smell bad during treatment and the odor dissipates fairly quickly after closing the bottle.
Takes a long time(up to a month or more depending on the situation.) Don't expect Rid-Ich results.
This is the kind of treatment for the early to mid level infestation. Severe infestations require more punch.
Like all ich treatments I've seen, the carbon in the filter has to be removed during treatment.
I am overall happy with this product. It isn't as strong as Rid-Ich but it gets the job done with less stress on the fish. I think it is a better choice for the first treatment of a smaller tank because it doesn't have any harsh chemicals. I've noticed that sometimes the chemical used to treat the disease is worse than the disease itself when it comes to fish. This treatment does take time, I can't stress that enough. A lot of bad reviews I've seen on this product don't take the time factor into account. Ich also tends to get worse before it gets better. Don't stop treatment until all the white spots have been gone for at least a few days.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.