PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food

NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food

Nutro® Natural Choice® Small Breed Adult Dog Food small breed adult formula ensures proper nutrition for health and well-being. Buy now at PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.977 / 5
5
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 176
177 of 177(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

May 11, 2014
by trc20029
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dogs love this food and It is healthy for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

great food

March 16, 2014
by Avila
fromHeron , Montana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My pomeranian has a senstive stomach and this is the best food we have found for her, is has no by-products only real meat. And the best part is that she really seems to like the tast. the small breed is hard to find but is much easer for my Pom to eat for the kibble is much smaller.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

Absolutely love this product!

December 13, 2013
by DaniGirl
fromNorth Lauderdale, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
My Papillon has been eating this brand for years and really seems to love it. It doesn't make her bowl greasy like some other brands tend to plus the kibbles are a perfect size for her small mouth.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

September 27, 2013
by birdylover
fromNorth Bellmore, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Excellent food, no corn which is great. My little yorkie loves it. I chose small breed instead of toy because I find the pieces a little bigger and I feel my dog should chew the food instead of swollering it whole. More chewing helps keep tarter from forming on the teeth. My yorkie is only 6 lbs. and eats like a trooper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

Fantastic

July 1, 2013
by silveroni
fromMiami, FL.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
I cannot ask for more.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

Happy dog

April 16, 2013
by MoMoJ
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Teddy is always happy with his food. He is a healthy, happy dog because of it.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

My dog loves this food!

February 11, 2013
by shorkiemommy
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
I started my pup on the small breed puppy food from this brand when I first brought him home, and just recently transitioned him to the small breed adult, and he loves it. Because he is a small breed, he has a sensitive stomach at times, but he has never had problems with this food. The kibble size is perfect for his little mouth too.
Pros: high quality, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

A Great Commercial Dog Food

January 10, 2013
by DogAdvisor
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
While at my favorite local pet store, Petsmart, I once again browsed the dog food isles. Everyone always says that knowledge is power but with all I have learned about the commercial dog food industry, I feel crippled. Specific brands that my dog, Daisy, has eaten and enjoyed turned out to have that one ingredient on the list that I now refuse to feed her. I speak of the 'by-product meal' which you will see attached to different proteins like chicken, beef, salmon, and lamb.
It is easy to get confused when reading ingredient labels. Most everyone knows that the ingredients are listed by the quantity of the ingredients, most to least. So many of us, myself included, will scan the list of ingredients, see beef or chicken in the first items listed and think...Cool, this one must be a good one. The truth of the matter is that if the protein is listed alone on the ingredients list, it refers to 'muscle', fit for human consumption, meat. Chicken meal or any other protein combined with meal is made from proteins, cooked to remove water and fat. The result is a highly concentrated source of high quality protein from meat and minerals such as calcium from bone. This is a great thing to appear on a label. This is a protein source, fit for human consumption and concentrated for maximum nutritional value. It is also important to mention that if the protein meal if found a little further down on the list of ingredients, that is fine. Just think of a can of orange juice concentrate. That one little can make a full gallon of juice. Where in a whole chicken is great, it is also of greater mass and weight that the meal concentrate. Meal has a greater quality of protein and minerals than the actual muscle mass of the same protein. Chicken by-product meal is made with all of the other parts that are unfit for human consumption. Most commercial dog food companies are connected to the human food companies. Once the human food companies use everything that is fit for human consumption from the protein source, they sell the left overs to dog food companies. I am talking about entrails, beaks, feet, and all sorts of things that are not fit for human consumption. Probably not very high in nutritional value either. If your label says bi-product, it is time to look for another dog food. Another thing to look for on food labels is the nutritional adequacy statement which specifies canine life stages appropriate for the food being sold. The difference between the two is really just that of preference. Verbiage like 'formulated to meet nutritional profiles' simply means that laboratory experiments were performed on the food to determine it's make up and nutritional value. Verbiage or phrases like 'animal feeding tests have confirmed the nutritional value' means exactly as it sounds. One was tested by science and the other on living animals. You should also be warned that packaging that is full of statistics, percentages of nutritional content, guarantees of any kind are required by law to be substantiated, while the plain packaging with little to no additional information could have just about anything in it.
While at Petsmart, agonizing over the things I was finding while reading labels, I was approached by a representative from the Nutro Natural Pet Food Company. This is what I learned from her and followed up with some additional research at home.
The Nutro Company has been making natural pet foods with added vitamins and minerals since 1929. They are located in Franklin, Tennessee near Nashville. They do not have any connection to the human food industry and only uses farm raised, or grain bred animals to make their product. They also only use natural ingredients that are naturally preserved with Vitamin E. No chemical preservatives are ever used. They hold themselves to a higher standard of quality and their Company Philosophy is Pets First. They hold the standard of delivering healthy, superior nutrition with no compromises. They also offer a 100% guarantee of satisfaction or your money back.
The Nutro Company safety and quality standards:
Production of all dry pet foods in their own facilities right here in the United States.
All industry food safety and quality standards are met and exceeded through regularly on-site audits at the ingredient suppliers.
Testing of all fey ingredients before they are used.
Testing for mycotoxins in grains before they are even unloaded from the delivery trucks.
Testing on each and every batch of finished product to confirm microbiological safety, nutritional compliance and shelf stability through oxidation before it is shipped for sale. (they even reduced production during the last year due to difficulty obtaining key ingredients which met their strict quality and safety standards)
Every seven days, an in depth cleaning and sanitation break of production occurs.
Daisy is currently starting her second bag of Nutro Ultra Dog Food, A Holistic Super food for small breed adults. Along with this second bag, I am treating Daisy with the Nutro Ultra Pate three times a week to help with her immune system and healthy skin and coat. I have already noticed that her coat and skin have improved and her eyes are brighter. She has stopped random scratching which had been increasing prior to starting the Nutro Ultra dog food. With summer approaching, heat can cause itch dry skin and I am hoping to find that Daisy won't have that problem now the she is getting a much more nutritionally balanced diet. I don't think I will ever need to use the 100% refund guarantee.
I was very skeptical at first but am now a believer after just one bag. Try a one bag challenge. Let me know what you think.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

Wanted a dog food with real ingredients

July 19, 2012
by PugFan
fromLA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
After reading the ingredient label of the dog food I had been feeding my pug, I became disgusted. No wonder the poor thing didn't care for her food- it was gross! So I went to the store and I read the labels of all the dog foods. I finally decided on Nutro Natural Small Breed. I then read all the comments on this site and everyone was just raving about it, and I said no way it is that good, but I poured my pug a bowl, and wouldn't you know- like all of the posters reported on here, my dog, too, ate it right up! I think I have found a winner. Thanks, Nutro!
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

PERFECT for TEACUPS!!!

May 10, 2012
by MadisonMom
fromNew Jersey
I have a teacup Pomeranian. She is EXTREMELY finicky about dry food as well as she's missing a lot of teeth. BUT the biggest factor is she weighs all of 3.8lbs; her mouth is the size of my thumb. Regular dog food- even small bread- is normally to big for her to eat. This is the first dry food that not only does she like, she can comfortably eat it. If you have a tiny dog this food is the way to go.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews

March 14, 2012
by aliskeeper
fromModesto CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have two Rat Terriers with issues...picky eaters and sensitive stomachs...they where on a very expensive food...we switched to the Nutro Natural Choice Small Breed ...and now they went from "Forceing it down" to allways wanting more!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Based on the average of (166) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 177 reviews
166 out of 166 recommend this product