PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"

Expandable six-panel plastic pet pen Can accommodate a variety of shapes and sizes Great for indoor or outdoor use Perfect for puppies, kittens, small dogs & more Optional pet yard extension kit sold separately Made exclusively for PetSmart
Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
19 of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Review 1 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Would have liked something better!

May 30, 2013
by sadiesgrandma
fromSC
I purschased this for my daughters mini daschund I did like the fact that I could change the shape. However although I think one panel is suppose to be the gate you can barely get it apart. We always lifted her above it every time to let her out to potty and such. I thought I could size it but I will probably have to remove all the screws to do that. It needs a better gate and I would love a cover. We haven't used in a while since sadie barks like crazy the whole time she is in it and I am afraid she will jump out now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

good for small puppies

May 15, 2013
by Dougp
fromWichita KS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We purchased 2 Scottish Terrier puppies and bought this while we were house training them, to get them through their teething phase and to constain them and keep them out of trouble when we leave the house without them. For puppies it is working very well. We bought some panel extensions to give them more room. It is not the sturdiest construction but works to contain the dogs. It's easy to store and put out of the way when necessary. Overall this has done the job we've asked of it so far. The big test will come as the dogs get older and we use this pen to contain them when we're at work.
Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great value

May 7, 2013
by No1Bobo
fromLong Island, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
This pen is a great value for the money. Each of the six durable plastic panels is adjustable and removable to allow you to transport it with ease or adjust its geometric shape to suit your needs.
Pros: easy to assemble, sturdy, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Partial good idea

April 23, 2013
by Chuly
fromMiami Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This top paw play pen is a good idea but, when your small dog jumps over i need a cover for it and i can not find it. Are you able to help me?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent

April 16, 2013
by CHELSIEGIRL
fromMaryville TN
What is your gender?F
I was very pleased with this product. I have an older Peek-a-poo and it was just the right size for her. big enough she has room not to feel closed in, but small enough that I could use it in the house to keep her in one room while I am at work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent Pen

February 12, 2013
by ScottiMom
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I am a breeder of Scottish Terriers and have had this pen for years. It is easy to take down, stores in a small amount of space is sturdy and cleans up easy. It keeps the puppies safe inside. I am going to order a second one as I have 2 litters at the same time. You can also form it to different shapes to accomodate your use area
Pros: easy to assemble, sturdy, price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

February 2, 2013
by dravensgl
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I purchased this item and i love it. My dog has 8 pups and this helps keep them safe and from destorying my home. The panels are a little hard to take apart or add new ones.
this product folds up for easy moving and cleaning. i'm looking into purchasing another one to add to the one i got now.
Pros: sturdy, price
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

January 29, 2013
by Alvali
fromNorth Bergen, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I have 2 very playful puppies and this product has been an excellent place for them to play and sleep.
Pros: easy to assemble, sturdy, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Amazing

January 24, 2013
by DeanaMarie80
fromCorona, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
This gate is amazing. It comes completely assembeled and easy to use instructions on usage. I love how you can bend and manuvere each panel to fit whatever type of area you need blocked. The grip pieces on the bottom of the legs make it impossible for my pup to push the gate. Highly reccomend this product.
Pros: easy to assemble, sturdy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent value

January 20, 2013
by dbcfwu
fromEnfield IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I bought this as a pen for my two chi puppies to sleep in at night. They love their pen. It's big enough they can sleep, eat, play and room for their puppy pad.
Pros: easy to assemble, sturdy, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

how do you take this pen apart.

December 9, 2012
by lovesdog2
fromMinot ND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
I am having difficulty in trying how to take the pen apart so I can shrink the number of panels needed to go around a Christmas tree. Is there anyone out there that help me out? The instructions that came with the pen are not very clear on this done.
Pros: sturdy, price
Cons: difficult to assemble
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

26" to short

July 30, 2012
by efra38
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Good product but, 26" is to short for a Martese
6 lbs, my dog jump over the fences.
Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: price, Too Low
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great for Dachshunds

July 27, 2012
by AshNee
fromMt. Morris MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love this product it works really well for my mini dachshund and it also worked for my aunt's dachshund who likes to jump. I also love that you can change the shape to fit any space.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Does NOT work

July 16, 2012
by doglover221
fromLittle Rock,AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
I bought this for my two dogs.A 2 month old pitbull and a 7 month old schnauzer mix.Terrible. My pitbull completely destroyed it.My schnauzer can clear it by a foot.And it was not sturdy.I do not like the product at all.I do not recommend this for anyone who has a large or medium sized dog.
Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: price, Too Low
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Good Product. Dog escapes.

June 22, 2012
by Megan4444
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I have a 5 month old pomeranian and this seemed like the perfect solution to leaving him at home. It is well made and easy to use. We really liked how you could shape it to fit any space. However, after one afternoon in the enclosure he managed to jump out. He can now clear the whole thing. I don't know how but he keeps escaping. Great product but back to the drawing board for us.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: Too Low
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

March 12, 2012
by Cockers
fromTucson, AZ
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My husband and I bought this item for our two cocker spaniels. We live in an apartment and they had out grown their crate. We figured an exercise pen would be better to get than a bigger crate because you can add and take away sides as you need them. We only used four sections to make a square. It was plenty of room for them and fit a large sized bed perfectly. We decided that this was a great purchase because we can easily transport it if need be and if my mom brings her cocker over we can simply add another section to give them more room. It is nice because it comes assembled from the factory but it is hard to move the sections and kind of hard to take them apart. But other than that we love it!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Pet Yard Containment Pen - Great Buy!

November 1, 2011
by JayeH
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I purchased this item after my 5 month-old, pitbull terrier mix chewed my DVD player cord into bits! I have a kennel, but wanted to give him more space to stretch his legs. This pen is wonderful for that. I live in a small, 1 bedroom apartment. With the option of making different shapes and using 4 or 6 panels, you can pretty much make it fit. The skid pads are great in minimizing the scratch marks on my hardwood floors. My only complaint, it is hard pulling the gates apart and connecting them. Nevertheless, I give it 4 out 5 stars!!!
Pros: price, sturdy
Cons: difficult to assemble
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Pet Yard

July 3, 2011
by Ama22
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a great product. Keeps the puppies contained while giving them space to play and move about. The only drawback so far and I've had if for about 5 weeks is that it slides on my hardwood floors when the puppies put their paws against it. Other than that the product works quite well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

perfect

June 14, 2011
by doglover1981
fromChicago, IL.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is exactly what i needed for my yorkie puppy. I don't want to have her confined to a crate when I'm not home and this product gives her just enough room for training pads, her bed and play space. It is heavy duty plastic and seems to be very durable. It was much larger than I had envisioned and I love that I can make it rectangular to fit my space.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Paw Pet Yard Containment Pen - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Perfect for a Rabbit

June 12, 2011
by cthrnmueller
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I would reccommend this to rabbit owners looking to expand their rabbits play area and not have to worry about them escaping. The fencing is constructed very well so even the smallest of rabbits can't squeeze through! It is a little difficult to get together but still took under 5 minutes! I don't know if I would put any dog larger than a rabbit in this pen but it serves its purpose and is an overall great deal!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next