PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra Ick Guard Tablets

Clears Ick fast Fast, Safe, Effective Protects against secondary infections No need to raise water temperature
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
10 of 15(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Review 1 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

good product works great and cheap

February 2, 2014
by hayesy
fromduncan, bc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I would like to say to other reviewers with smaller tanks. Get the drops, it is more accurate for you. As for having fish in these 1.5 gallon tanks, it is rather stressful on them to be in such a small enviroment. it is generally 1 inch of fish per 1 gallon of water so in these small tanks your fish are getting stressed out, which in turn is a major factor in ich happening. Also the larger the tank the easier it is to care for. You best solution to prevent ich is to have a larger tank, usually no smaller than a 10 gallon at most. Most fish prefer 20 plus gallons in order to not be stressed and have the ideal enviroment.
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

December 1, 2013
by Cookie77
fromQueens ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I noticed yesterday morning that one of my parrot fish appeared to have ick , there were small white spots all over him. Lately, he has been stressed due to fighting. I researched and found a change as low as 3 degrees or stress will cause ick. I always keep medications on hand. I have never used this medication before. I had to use 5 tablets due to the size of my tank and the water turned blue. This morning, my fish was ick free, wow that was fast. I did a partial water change as recommended and gave a second dose just for good measure. If this product doesn't work for you, it could be another type of illness or parasite. Good luck
Pros: works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

horrible

August 17, 2013
by kileybear
fromMichigan, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
this product was easy to use for large tanks but hard for 1-9 gallon tanks. it also turned my water blue for a few hours and stained my seal on the inside of my tank. i have a beta who had ich and he was in his own tank so i ended up splitting the tablet into 4ths......... it didnt work.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Does Not Work!

February 3, 2013
by RavynStar
fromColumbus, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I've been treating my fish for 10 consecutive days now, treating as directed with a 25% water change every night and there are no signs of the ich clearing up - in fact, it's getting worse in one of the fish. To add to the problem, I have a 16 gallon tank, which requires me to have to cut, or saw rather, tablets in half - thus resulting in what may be unequal doses every night. As another reviewer suggested, save your money and buy the liquid.
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Good Product for the price

July 20, 2012
by javaking
fromCali
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have read some of the reviews that this product does not work etc.... before writing the reviews or giving the product a bad review, you should understand what it is you are using the product for. Ich does not go away from the fish because of the product. If the fish has ich it is too late and if it makes it then great, but the product prevents ich from striking again when the white spots fall of the fish, there 48 hour period where it will need to find a host and this where the product is effective.
Again read the instructions understand your product and please provide educated reviews.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Amazing product

July 17, 2012
by noobieguy69017
fromLawrenceville,Ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
This product is so fast acting that even my algae eater who doesn't move a muscle until after 9 pm is happily swimming around. My only complaint is that I had to hammer the tablet into powder to give my 5 gallon aquarium the proper dosage since these tablets are made for 10+ gallon tanks. Besides this the product was overall amazing. My fish are more active and the product was very cheap.
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

OK

December 27, 2011
by Ellietheanimalfreak
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Didn't work that well. Hard to cut. Buy liquid drops... My fish died after though. Oh well.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: price, didn't work
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Okay Ick Medication

November 8, 2011
by SSSS
fromMeridian, ID
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
My glofish got ick so I ran to Petsmart to get this. It was cheap and had pretty good reviews so I bought it. I had them in my 1.5 gallon hospital tank. It is hard to cut, so good luck is your tank isn't 10, 20, 30 gallons etc. It also turns the water blue. Those I guess are minor to the fact the ick was gone in a day. It says you don't have to raise the temp. but I recommend still doing it to like 86 degrees. I also added some salt to help the medication. All in all this is a decent ick medication for the price.
Pros: works great, price
Cons: Hard to Administer
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

It works

September 30, 2011
by BradyE
fromUtah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had a goldfish that got some ich and put it in my tank, but it fowled up my water. If you have a 20 gallon just use one tablet in the middle. I works great though.
Pros: works great, easy to administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Medication

August 7, 2011
by Camachoandfish
fromOntario,Ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Worked in two days and cleare ick in a aqueon mini bow. It worked but a tetra died not strong enough to fight back against ick. It did save 2 tetras; and the platy in the Mini bow though.
Pros: works great, price
Cons: Hard to Administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Easy to use but...

July 28, 2011
by TetraMom
fromNJ
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
It is very good product overall.
I have 5 gal. tank and three tetras in it. The first day I forgot to remove carbone so it didn't work effectively. Since I removed it yesterday, tetras do not have white spots anymore. It is easy to use but it's could have more direction. It just says add 1 table/ 10 gal of water, change 25% of water before adding another tablet every 24 hours but it does not say how long I am supposed to continue. I will continue a couple more days.
Pros: price
Cons: Hard to Administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

May 15, 2011
by Chris29
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Best ich medicine ever! My goldfish had a terrible case of ich and just after four days of treatments it was all gone! I never even removed the carbon and it still worked. This product is definately a life saver.
Pros: works great, easy to administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Don't waste your money!!

March 9, 2011
by ilovefish2
fromIdaho
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I used as directed on box for 4 days in a row. Nothing, no change. I did a 25% water change eveyday. This product does not work.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

hasn't worked yet

January 8, 2011
by flounder
fromVisalia, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I picked this product for the ease of use. However, the claim that it should clear most tanks in 24 hours doesn't seem to apply to me. This is my 4th day of using the product and my tetras still have ick. My other fish haven't caught it yet, as far as I can tell, but it's not helping my sick fish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Ick Guard Tablets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great

November 28, 2010
by thefishcarer
fromclearwater, florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This works very effectively. Its cheap and can treat up to 80 gallons. If it does not work in the next 24 hours just do a 25% water change then add the treatment. This is very good.
Pros: cleans ick fast, easy to use, cheap
Cons: can only treat up to 80 gallons, none
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.