PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whisker City No Scratch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City No Scratch

Whisker City No Scratch helps to deter your cat from scratching furniture, carpets and drapes. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
1.615 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
2 of 13(15%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City No Scratch
Review 1 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

completely ineffective

February 17, 2014
by hushangel
fromWindsor, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Even as I bought this product, I had low expectations. My cat had always chose my couch over his scratching post and this spray didn't change his preference at all. Even after using a ton of this spray, my cat continued to scratch my couch as if nothing had changed. I might as well have sprayed plain tap water on my furniture. After using nearly half the bottle on my couch and having no results, I brought it back to the store and got my money back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Save your money

November 26, 2013
by PurrBall
fromVancouver
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Didn't work at all for us. Sprayed it on the furniture and it didn't deter at all. Got to the point of actually spraying in the air above the cat, and he didn't move.
An ineffective product for us.
PS- it has clove, garlic and vegetable oil in it.... over the period of a few days the oil components of the product stained our bedskirt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

HORRIBLE!!!!! Don't buy!

September 14, 2013
by Sandstone
fromGermantown, MD
This product doesn't work AT ALL! I sprayed liberally on my couch...the next morning I checked and the cat had scratched where I had sprayed. A short while later I saw him sniff the couch and then started rubbing against it. It's more like an attractant! Wish I had read reviews before I bought this...complete waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Does not work

August 14, 2013
by LoLo1481
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this to spray on the door frame and the backs of the couches that my cat was scratching. It did not deter him one bit. I would recommend double-sided sticky tape around the places you want your cat to stop scratching. Petsmart sells it by the roll.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Not Good

March 29, 2013
by KittiesandFish
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
It worked all right for the first few days, but then all of our cats were back to scratching!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

February 19, 2013
by Bulldog2
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We used two Whisker City products when we got our new cat. No Mark and No Scratch. Both worked great! After a few days of applying No Scratch Taffy had no interest in clawing the couch. Since then we've bought a scratching post which gave her a place to scratch and we've had no problems since.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Worked for my kitten

December 6, 2012
by CECJ
fromWashington, DC
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
This product worked well for my kitten, I did have to spray the couch a few times in the beginning, but it now has completely stopped her from continuing to scratch it. I also bought her a vertical scratching post which seems to work much better that the flat boxes to also deter her from scratching anything else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

WASTE OF $$

September 16, 2012
by Penelope0202
fromMt Pleasant, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My 6 month old kitten has destroyed my leather ottoman despite having scratching posts of her own. I tried squirting her with water, but after she chewed up the water bottle I decided to give this a try. It was a COMPLETE waste of money. My cat didn't stop scratching a bit. I can't believe PetSmart would even sell this garbage brand. Judging by other reviews, Whisker City doesn't make any good products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Not Happy

September 1, 2012
by Petunia73
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
I purchase this product hopping it will make my cat stop scratching the carpet, but didn't have good results. It acctually created maggets on my carpet. I can't say that it was a waste of money because I returned the product to the store and got my money back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

June 28, 2012
by cparker
fromOlathe, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I guess I should have read the other reviews before buying. Did not solve the problem!!!! What a waste of money!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Dont waste your time on this

March 17, 2012
by CatOwner123
fromToronto
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
I purchased this thinking it would have some effect, but it did absolutely nothing to deter my cat from anything I sprayed. He was curious when I sprayed a carpet that he enjoys scratching, and I sprayed quite a bit of this stuff on it. Minutes later he was rolling on the carpet as if nothing ever happened. The scratching continued immediately after.
Don't waste your money on this.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

January 29, 2012
by nn720
fromJersey Shore
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Did nothing to deter my cat in any way no matter how much I used or how frequently I applied it to the side of our couch. Maybe it works on cats other than my own, but in my case, it was a waste of money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whisker City No Scratch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Don't waste your $$ on Whiskey City No Scratch

December 18, 2011
by Jnicolle
fromCentral CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
This No Scratch spray is a joke. I sprayed the couch with two bottles of this spray thinking it would help keep the cats from clawing up my new couch. Instead it just caused them to chose the couch over their scratching posts! Think twice before purchasing this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.