PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat

This durable, woven Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat is ideal for cats prone to scratching. Includes certified organic catnip. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Review 1 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Might be ok with a fix

March 26, 2013
by Williamb
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this because my vet said that cats love sisal fiber to scratch on. My objections are: this is not skid-proof as the label claims. It slides all over the place. Also, the cat loves it but it is because of the catnip plastic pouch inside the mat. I don't know if it would be interested were it catnip-free. I'm going to mount the mat on a non-skid heavy board to keep it in place, and maybe then the cat will scratch at it instead of just being stoned on catnip and frolicking around with it.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

My kitten likes it!

January 30, 2013
by Joanna12
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased a kitten from a breeder, but it was weeks before I picked her up. I bought this mat before I got her, and once she came home it wasn't long before she found her way to this mat. She immediately started scratching. I've had her for about a week now and that's the only place I've seen her sharpen her claws. Great product!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great scratching mat!

December 28, 2012
by CatGeek
fromVirginia, USA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this! Our cat was having problems with scratching the kitchen mat and the couch so I went to Petsmart for a solution. When I got home and sat her on top of the mat, she understood right away. She loves it! She not only scratches it but sleeps on it during the day. I would recommend this to anybody!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

I wish I had this sooner!

December 1, 2012
by JaimeAndPetra
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this product for a few weeks and I wish I had bought it sooner so that my mom's rugs would have been spared. I have only caught my cat scratching a rug twice since I got it, but when she is caught, she gives a chirp and makes her way to the sisal rug. It's unbelievable.
This is a great horizontal scratcher for big cat breeds (mine is a Siberian). I love how it has a pouch in the back where catnip can be put in. I keep it in a bag to keep everything clean, but my cat still gets the enjoyment.
In summary, I never thought getting her to stop picking the rugs would have been so incredibly easy! I gave her treats the first two times she used it, and praised her a few times afterwards. I am still proud every time she goes to it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Cats love it!

November 7, 2012
by SaraShed
fromWilmington,DE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for our cats as they were scratching on our couches and carpet! They love it and love moving it around with their paws (in addition to scratching) and hiding under it. Silly cats!
I pretended to scratch on it first to show them how to do it (we adopted these 3 cats from the shelter, so we weren't sure if they have ever used a scratch mat like this before) and they caught on quickly. 2/3 cats love it, the 3rd doesn't seem to do much with it and still prefers scratching the carpet. Oh well!
It is small enough to hide under a table or chair and has a nice color that it blends in with furniture.
Highly recommend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

August 9, 2011
by Anonymous
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My two kitties love these scratching pads. it does not wear their nails down, but they scratch on these things rather than my furniture or rugs. I love them!
Pros: sturdy
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

My cat LOVES this!

July 17, 2011
by Rubla
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a very fussy cat and she loves this. She was so excited when I first brought it home she only left it to take naps. She still uses it all the time.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Good

July 17, 2011
by Hopiey
fromSouth Carolina
How many pets do you have?2
One cat absolutely loved it upon first discovery (I bought it while they were at vet drop off appt). The other has enjoyed it, but not to the same degree. They lay on it more than scratches and today the cat who loved it yesterday was caught scratching the rug that I put this on that I'm trying to stop her from.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City Sisal Scratching Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

my cats love them

April 9, 2011
by SiaKitty
fromMission Viejo, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
These are loved by both of my kitties so much I had to buy a second one! They scratch and stretch on them constantly as well as lay on them to gaze out onto the patio. These are well constructed, sturdy, and look so nice I don't mind leaving them in front of the patio windows all the time. There's even a large zipped pocket on the underside to stuff with catnip (comes with a small packet) but your kitty will love this mat even if you never insert one leaf. Love this product.
Pros: sturdy, price
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.